fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 10 May 2016 12:54 #76532

  • Unfenswinger
  • Unfenswinger's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 5
"As far as the comment about competitors replicating the new features that may or may not have been shown, that's a given. Every new feature FCPX has introduced, has been copied"

No quite true, I know the Magnetic Timeline has been patented but one could imagine an object orientated timeline that didn't infringe on the patent and the whole Metadata underpinning of the application has yet to be copied. For all of Adobe's plagiarism it still looks like something from the last decade and Avid looks like a MS Excel with a timeline.

OK, 'G' you say. G.R.O.U.P.I.N.G....It would be a natural extension to Keywording and actually make the keywords start working for you automatically. This is something I've sent in the features request to be able to use keywords to associate grades or LUTs. I normally work with SLog3 footage straight from my FS7 but sometimes I'll have to shoot in REC709 so it would be great to apply effect groups to certain types of footage based on these Groupings. There's no end to how useful groupings could be.

Karsten, I agree, a thrilling future to be sure if you're an editor. In the 3D world where my other foot is placed it's less good to be a Mac user. The Mac Pro current is just not suited to GPU rendering, Apple really messed up with its OpenCL drivers and compiler such that CUDA has become the only game in town for GPU rendering and the GPU development race is full on and showing no signs of slowing. Now with Metal Apple have again dropped a bollock because Metal on Mac is lacking the features needed for GPU rendering that even the iOS version of Metal has so there's no prospect in sight for Mac users. I currently render with my 12 core Mac Pro with VRay but I'm looking to move to Octane or Redshift and that will mean a foray back into the PC world that I gave up nearly 2 decades ago. The 3D market is a tiny rounding error compared to the numbers of FCPX users so I can understand why it might not be high on the agenda but building a windows box gives me the heebeegeebees. :sick:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 10 May 2016 15:30 #76535

  • daviddelreal
  • daviddelreal's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 6
"G" must be for "Groundbreaking."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 10 May 2016 17:13 #76537

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10102
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1277
Or G could be for Granola, or Gorilla, or Gallium, or Gibberish...

But we'll stick with Groundbreaking for now.

If I had a nickel for every PPro user at NAB Show 2016 who told me PPro picked up the metadata function, and did it better than FCPX, OMG, I'd be so rich! The idiots have no clue what they're talking about. But yes, Adobe did make a lame attempt at organizing with Metadata, so yes, that was copied. But the sometimes magnetic timeline is so hatted by other NLE users, who've never used it, Adobe would commit suicide to replicate it. I say "sometimes" because we can hit P and it's not magnetic any more.

And if I had a nickel for every FCPX editor who say they're forced to use PPro and MC for specific clients, and HATE using them, I'd be even richer.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by BenB.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 10 May 2016 22:12 #76545

  • knesaren
  • knesaren's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 23
...and now Adobe has invented a way so that you don't have to create proxies by hand. It's called "generate proxies on ingest".

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 06:30 #76548

  • knesaren
  • knesaren's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 23
I wish I could enter Keywords in the Import window.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 07:46 #76551

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

knesaren wrote: I wish I could enter Keywords in the Import window.


that's a nice idea!!
typing www.apple.com/feedback/finalcutpro.html

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 07:55 #76554

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
What I imagine this idea would be, is basically taking the range creation, keywording functions from the browser and having this duplicated in the import window, so that you can range select a portion of a clip, keyword/favorite and import only that range, and what do you do not use, is basically self rejected and if you format it is lost.

This would be a great idea, it saves having to reject clips and waste space that is not productive, if you know what is important, doing the pre-edit at this stage sort of makes a lot of productive sense, given you are only choosing the ranges you will actually need, and if you so desire, you can create a camera archive, or copy the media off the SD card, or camera onto a back up drive, leaving the primary storage free from rejected clips, wow...that is a really great idea, thanks knersaren!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 08:34 #76557

  • Unfenswinger
  • Unfenswinger's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 5

BenB wrote: But the sometimes magnetic timeline is so hatted by other NLE users, who've never used it, Adobe would commit suicide to replicate it. I say "sometimes" because we can hit P and it's not magnetic any more.


I would like a Magnetism override for specific clips or secondary storylines. The Position Tool is fine but as soon as the gap clip is filled or deleted the clip that was positioned becomes magnetic again. I'd like to be able to 'pin' a clip either in time or relative to the main audio track such that it can't move unless I unpin it. This is pretty much the only adjustment I'd make to the Magnetic Timeline.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 10:07 #76560

  • VJIse
  • VJIse's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 1

knesaren wrote: I wish I could enter Keywords in the Import window.


When the import window changed I sent feedback to sort of request that. What I requested was for the Finder Tags to be available in the import window and to be able to add them to clips and ranges. The reason I asked for tags, we have lots of prepared tags we add to clips in the finder. For drama projects, scene#, shot# and take will be used in each project. In the finder these can only be applied to full clips. So I thought it would be good if you could apply them to ranges during import. It would also be good to be able to add extra keywords at this point.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 11:28 #76564

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
It seems to me that pre-editing, or tagging ranges is very important, I have not noticed many issues/wishes/desires in regards the actual timeline editing, apart from the obvious be able to attach a clip to a secondary storyline or clip.

It seems that most folks are really looking for better ways to log footage before the actual edit, which is very interesting, I wonder what Apple would be thinking right now...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 11:28 #76565

  • Steve McGarrigle
  • Steve McGarrigle's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 114
  • Thank you received: 9
I really hope this is implemented as well. It seems strange that FCPX's keyword/Metadata based workflow doesn't yet extend beyond the application itself especially as tagging has been around since Mavericks. I have most of my media from the last two years tagged with various keywords now and It would make ingesting assets for certain projects/libraries so much easier.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 11:56 #76567

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
"...and now Adobe has invented a way so that you don't have to create proxies by hand. It's called "generate proxies on ingest".

Generating proxies on ingest has always been possible in FCP X. You can find it under Preferences > Import. So, that's not much of an "invention" from the part of Adobe :) But happy to see they are trying to keep up.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 12:49 #76568

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662
@Ronny

Guess, that was meant ironically, in reply to, others copycat Apple functions.... ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 12:52 #76569

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Ah, I didn't get the irony in the message :) My apologies.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 13:06 #76570

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10102
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1277

knesaren wrote: I wish I could enter Keywords in the Import window.


Actually you can, in a way. Make a keyword collection you're going to need. Highlight it, then open the Import window. What you then import will be assigned that pre-highlighted keyword collection.

But being able to create on in the Import window itself would be nice. But I'd not want the Import window to be too cluttered. Keyboarding, Rating, etc, are faster when I can see everything at once in the Browser. In the Import Window, I rarely know at that point what I need in regards to organization. I need to see the full production first. That's just me. Clutter can be more horrible than it may seem before hand.

As for pinning clips, know we currently have the Tilde key to override the connection stem. And you can remove clips overriding the magnetic properties. No new tools needed for that, we already have it.

I'd like to see NEW features that help out, not revamp old ones we already have the work just fine.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by BenB.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 13:19 #76573

  • thinkfilm
  • thinkfilm's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
  • Thank you received: 26
Ronny,

What are you doing being ironic in this thread.? There's another thread called "29.97i vs 29.97p" on the forum that could really use your help - before it explodes in a flame war.

Karsten that goes double for you too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by thinkfilm. Reason: typo

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 13:20 #76574

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

BenB wrote: …
Actually you can, in a way. Make a keyword collection you're going to need. Highlight it, then open the Import window. What you then import will be assigned that pre-highlighted keyword collection.….


Nice!
or, Tom showed me that:
ignore the Import window (if your formats allow it), drag from Finder files straight onto the Keyword-collection in FCPX and they get imported and get that keyword...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 13:23 #76576

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3687
  • Karma: 61
  • Thank you received: 662

thinkfilm wrote: … before it explodes in a flame war.
Karsten that goes double for you too.


A sandbox can not catch fire… ;)
Let the kids play there…
And it got all sentinels attention already...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 13:32 #76579

  • thinkfilm
  • thinkfilm's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 181
  • Karma: 7
  • Thank you received: 26
Yes, you are right. We all need outlets for our creativity.

Thank you, Karsten.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Waiting on 10.2.4 and 10.3 11 May 2016 16:11 #76591

  • Unfenswinger
  • Unfenswinger's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 5

BenB wrote: As for pinning clips, know we currently have the Tilde key to override the connection stem. And you can remove clips overriding the magnetic properties. No new tools needed for that, we already have it.

I'd like to see NEW features that help out, not revamp old ones we already have the work just fine.


Nope that's not what I suggested.

If I'm editing a programme with segments that have a specific length and I want to place bumpers at specific points in the timeline I can do it with the P tool. But when the gap clip is filled up with edited content and I make edits to that content the bumper will move around in time with my edit. I want to pin those bumpers in time and not have them ever move unless I unpin them. There is no way to achieve this with the current timeline behaviour.

The tilde key has zero relevance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.