fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: The MacPro Catch-All Thread

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 07 Sep 2013 22:47 #30878

  • DmitriZigany
  • DmitriZigany's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 25

Redifer wrote: I'd like one but it definitely has a bigger footprint than the current MacPro. With my current MacPro I can put 4 internal drives and a bunch of PCIe stuff inside the unit.

Who wants PCI stuff, anyway? Good riddance PCI, I say!
And with things like these:
Black Magic Multidock:
www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/blackmagicmultidock
MOTU HDX-SDI:
www.motu.com/video-products/hdx-sdi-thunderbolt
UA Apollo:
www.uaudio.com/apollo

It's easy to keep things tidy in a rack!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 08 Sep 2013 07:13 #30886

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 858
  • Thank you received: 79
All those things you linked to have a bigger footprint than the current MacPro. Where the hell am I gonna put a rack in my office? I guess I could go out and buy a new house instead of complaining.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Redifer.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 08 Sep 2013 11:47 #30898

  • DmitriZigany
  • DmitriZigany's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 673
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 25
Yeah, all needs are different. I always needed some outboard gear as well. And putting things in racks make pretty neat solutions. There are small racks that fit on your desk that don't take up more space than the old Mac Pro.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 10 Sep 2013 14:28 #31006

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1279
If all you need is I/O, AJA and Blackmagic make very compact, efficient, very nice T'bolt units that are very small.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by BenB.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Sep 2013 17:26 #31649

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
Some new Geekbench scores on a mid-tier 8core configuration.

www.macrumors.com/2013/09/27/apples-new-...ws-up-in-benchmarks/

According to the article, this 8 core machine is on par with the highest-end 2010 and 2012 12core benchmarks.

The new 12core is gonna be a beast.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 27 Sep 2013 19:55 #31662

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4237
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Thanks for the link. Over 24000 with 8 cores... yes that 12-core is gonna be a monster :woohoo:

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 01 Oct 2013 19:45 #31869

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
Rumor Roundup on 4K/Retina Cinema Displays.

www.macrumors.com/roundup/displays/

IF it's true, I don't see any chance of one of these being cheaper than $1,999 and more likely $2,499.

Going back almost a decade to 2004, the 30" ACD premiered for the heavy price of $3,299.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 04 Oct 2013 19:46 #32066

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
I have a question I'd like to table now, since I'm planning on buying a new MacPro on release.

So far we've had 2 processor options presented-

12-core 2.7GHz

8-core 3GHz

I know that some applications benefit more from higher clock-speeds and others from more cores.

Knowing that it's certainly going to make a lot of difference to max out the GPU (if fiscally possible), which option would more benefit FCPX and Motion? 12 cores at a slower clock-speed or 8-cores at higher?

Any thoughts or experiences?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 05 Oct 2013 15:11 #32091

  • Wildgiles
  • Wildgiles's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 18
12 core will only be ~ 30% faster in transcoding, but likely 2x the price. FCP X and motion should be faster with 8 core for most other instances where usually only a single core is being used. My guess is that it makes way more sense in a $ way to buy the 8 core and if you really need transcoding speed buy two mac pro's.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 29 Oct 2013 03:02 #33397

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
Some thoughts from Larry Jordan on the new MacPro

www.larryjordan.biz/app_bin/wordpress/archives/2431

Also- Apple's performance page:

www.apple.com/mac-pro/performance/

If it's not obvious, the performance baseline here is a current-gen Mac Pro 12-core 3.06GHz with 512GB SSD and ATI Radeon HD 5870 graphics. 64GB of RAM.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Disproportionate Pictures.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 29 Oct 2013 03:43 #33399

  • Wildgiles
  • Wildgiles's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: 3
  • Thank you received: 18
Sure is a jump in speed, but it doesn't show a stat for how much faster it is at transcoding say for something like pro res to H264. Closest thing is, export a 16bit tiff which is only 1.5X as fast, I'm inferring from this that the CPU in the new mac pro is %50 faster than the old one, that's quite good.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Wildgiles.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 05 Nov 2013 15:52 #33720

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
New 6-core MacPro shows up in Geekbench scores.

www.macrumors.com/2013/11/05/6-core-vers...pears-in-benchmarks/

So the only one we haven't seen is the 4-core version. Though the 12-core results were skewed because of the version of Geekbench that was used.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Disproportionate Pictures.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 01:25 #33737

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
Some good detective work by Marco Arment on the full CPU options for the MacPro.

www.marco.org/2013/11/05/geekbench-mac-pro-hexcore

I wonder why Apple left those other two CPU option out?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 16:16 #33776

  • Disproportionate Pictures
  • Disproportionate Pictures's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1433
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 64
Yet more benchmark stuff.

www.primatelabs.com/blog/2013/11/estimat...mac-pro-performance/

The question for all of us here will be how well parallelized are FCPX and Motion. If the performance benefit is minimal between the 8-core and 12-core CPUs, it could be a nice cost savings offset.

I may wait a week after the MacPro is released to see some software specific benchmarks from someone like Barefeats.

If I had to guess what I'm buying right now, it would be the 8-core, D700, with 32GB of RAM (enough for good performance, but I can upgrade when cheaper 3rd party RAM becomes available later), and a 512GB SSD.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 17:18 #33782

  • Chris Wilby
  • Chris Wilby's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Is it me, or can nobody at Apple actually convert the $ to £ correctly... you decide :angry:

store.apple.com/us/buy-mac/mac-pro

store.apple.com/uk/buy-mac/mac-pro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 19:26 #33789

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Yes I'm thinking similar specs as you DP.

Can't come too quickly though as the old girl has got wind of immanent departure and is now randomly restarting when I'm in FCP X! Anyone else seen this behavior? It's not a kernel panic, the machine (MacPro 2,1) just switches monitors off and reboots.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 19:34 #33790

  • plysat
  • plysat's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 592
  • Karma: 13
  • Thank you received: 67
"Anyone else seen this behavior? It's not a kernel panic, the machine (MacPro 2,1) just switches monitors off and reboots."

Yeah... In my case it was the power supply crapping out... :-(

EDIT: Actually, that was another one, the shutting off thing was due to a failed fan which was causing it to overheat... Your log should maybe give you some hints...
Can't sleep? Try this: fcpxpert.net ;-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by plysat.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 06 Nov 2013 19:37 #33792

  • Chris Wilby
  • Chris Wilby's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Similar situation with me earlier this year. It turned out to be my ram failing. Hope that helps :whistle:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 07 Nov 2013 12:26 #33802

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
I've had a look through the logs and can't see anything too alarming, though I'm no Boffin when it comes to this.
At the moment it only happens in FCP X but maybe it is taxing the machine more.

So close now it feels like a bad movie script. "Hang in there girl. You can make it!"
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

The MacPro Catch-All Thread 07 Nov 2013 12:54 #33803

  • dinerdog
  • dinerdog's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Expert Boarder
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 10
Seanus - My MacPro has been doing that since I installed Mavericks. I figured out that it was my NewerTech MaxPower USB Wireless Adapter, which doesn't have a Mavericks update. If I unplug it (the MaxPower Wireless adaptor) the computer restarts, If I try to power the computer down with it plugged in, the computer restarts. So, at the moment (end of the day), I have to unplug the USB Wireless adaptor, let the computer restart by itself, THEN power down without the Wireless adaptor plugged in. Aaarrgghh. fyi (I'm getting cable run to the computer, but that room is not wired yet - i know, i know)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.