I have a G-RAID unit that failed after a few months usage. I contacted the support and they will replace the failed drive. I need to send the drive back but I don't want to send it with my files in it. They said the data will be destroy anyways, but it is still ok for me to wipe it out if I want.
Can anyone help me how to do that? I am thinking about removing the good drive from the G-RAID, using it with the “red” drive only and then erase its content. However I don't know if when I put the “green” drive back (without the faulty one) it will work.
And when the new drive arrive, is it just a matter to plug it in? How the G-RAID will know it has to copy from the “green” drive to the new one and not the new one to the “green” drive. I am concerned I might lose the data when the new drive arrives too.