TOPIC: a Solid State Storage Story

a Solid State Storage Story 30 May 2014 19:13 #46996

• Loccufier
  • Loccufier's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone

I'm new to the forums but I've been visiting the site for a couple of years now.

I work at a small company mainly focussing on corporate films and live cam for corporate events and music festivals. Lately we've been doing more and more video mapping projects as well.

Things are going well and we are about to move into a new building, where we will be setting up two "plug-in" edit suites. Up until a few months ago we did all of our editing on a Mac Pro with internal RAID on FCP 7, but recently me and my Colleague moved up to rMBP's (and FCPx). Therefore we are considering setting up our edit suites with everything but computing power, since for the work we do at the moment we don't need to spend our money on a nMP or maxed out iMac. We'll just plug in power and a thunderbolt cable and we're set, all peripherals attached!

Now, the thing I'd like some advice about: Storage.
Right now, we're helping ourselves with Lacie Rugged Triple Disks via USB 3 (and FireWire800 on our old MP). Unfortunately, we've been having some bad luck with the reliability of those drives, and editing from them isn't the most snappy experience. (we are using the 7200rpm 500GB versions)
For backup and archival purposes, we use a big NAS.

What I expect from my setup is that it is very responsive (snappy), portable and reliable.
We generally work on a variety of projects at once. Usually not so bulky, so they generally fit on a 250 or 500 GB harddrive. We work from our office, but we often take the work with us. Either home or on a job. This is why up until now we've often been using single disks: portability.