fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter?

Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 02 Mar 2012 09:55 #5235

  • slidetackle2008
  • slidetackle2008's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 25
  • Thank you received: 0
I seem to not have the time to make templates/projects like I would like to due to me being only a Sophomore in highschool. However, whenever I go onto youtube and look for various intro's for FCPX projects I'm making, I always go wide-eyed over the AE/C4D intro's people make. Now I know I'm seeming really lazy but I don't get much time to edit. And yes I know how much work is put into them.

ANYWAYS, is there a AE/C4D converter to Motion Templates so I could edit my name, production name, etc. into a Template and not have to spend countless hours trying to figure out how each button works?

Can anyone help me? :/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 02 Mar 2012 14:01 #5243

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122
C4D is a 3d modelling/animation package and is way too different for conversion to be possible, it would be a bit like (but less extreme) trying to convert a Photoshop file for use in Garageband.

Ae and Motion 5 are bit more similar, I don't know about under the hood, but even in how they operate there are a lot of differences. If it was possible to do this there would definitely be limitations and the converted Ae project would still need rigged and published.

I'd like to say that it isn't possible, but those guys that made "7toX" have made me nervous about saying stuff like that.

It's not an instant thing, but learning Ae or Motion 5 is well worthwhile, Motion 5 is far cheaper and probably easier to learn too. And you can do stuff in there that looks every bit as good as can be done in Ae.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 02 Mar 2012 15:28 #5246

  • cgbier
  • cgbier's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 53
If you don't have much time, you definitively should learn Motion. It cannot achieve everything that AE does, but it is less complex.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 02 Mar 2012 23:12 #5269

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1277
I've yet to find something AE can do that Motion can't. My friends who are fellow certified Motion trainers with Apple, who are also Adobe certified trainers for AE, state this, also. Many, not all, also prefer doing their own work in Motion over AE. It's just personal preference which workflow you prefer, and which NLE you spend most of your time in.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 02:51 #5278

  • Scrubelicious
  • Scrubelicious's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: 47
  • Thank you received: 110
as cgbier mentioned if you do not want to invest the time go with Apple Motion great Motion Effects tool.

Not as powerful then After Effects but for simple effects it worth it 50 bucks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 03:30 #5280

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1277
I've yet to find something AE can do that Motion can't.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 03:40 #5282

  • cgbier
  • cgbier's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 53
The scripting in AE is pretty nifty if you know how to.

My main issue with AE is its complexity (and the Adobe GUI). Until you have figured out AE's concept halfway the trial period is over. Motion is kinda unwrap it and start playing. Once you understand the GUI, the sky is the limit.

Ben, I'd like to see AE's Roto Brush in Motion. The only reason why I have AE.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 04:26 #5283

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122
The way I like to look at it isn't so much what one can do that the other can't, it's what I can do with either. If I need to put together some bullet points for a corporate video I can do so in both, but I'll definitely have different outcomes from each, both looking as good (or bad) as each other.

Same with an ident, a title sequence, a lower third etc. etc. So for me and in that regard there's nothing really one can do that the other can't. I try to keep it to an artists perspective and I know what I'm looking to do and see what I can make of it using which ever particular toolset. I know it's not really the same as this, but there's stuff you can do with pastels that you can't do with oils, but both can be used to create a picture of the Eiffel Tower.

If were talking what one can technically do that the other can't to me it does look like there is quite a lot, but nothing essential, and for the money it's Motion all the way for me for motion graphics work.

Using the "Puppet Tool" and the versatility of "Shape Layers" in AE are 2 thing that come to mind instantly as things that I don't get the impression I'd find ways to replicate if I wanted to.

What I miss most from AE is the "Clone Stamp" tool, I was gutted to see no version of it in Motion, there are ways to clone of course, but it's not the same. And currently I'm not doing anything other than motion graphics in Motion anyway. Straight to AE for composting, rotoscoping, video clean ups/touch ups etc.

But that might change as time goes on.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 04:30 #5284

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122
While I think of it, do any AE + Motion users know if there is a per vertex feather plugin for Motion 5, like PV Feather for AE?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 05:13 #5285

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1277
I can do it all in Motion...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 13:46 #5302

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122

I can do it all in Motion...


I'm interested in how you emulate the puppet tools and AE's shape layers?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 16:48 #5303

  • Scrubelicious
  • Scrubelicious's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: 47
  • Thank you received: 110
Yeah the Roto brush kicks a$$!

After using Apple Motion for 8 years (certified since v2), I can say Motion is great for quick and dirty motion graphics with a lot of dynamics but not many detail work. Even though it is possible to a extent. After Effects is the precision tool for complex animation, visiual effects and advanced compositing.

Motion is truly designed on behavioral animations, presets and ease off use, and less on the fine details.
After Effects comes with a pro set of visiual effects tools plus scripting. Also from experience there is a better intergration from Cinema 4D to After Effects.

There is nothing in Motion compared to After Effects Puppet tools... there hasn't been any big tool feature since Motion 3 and the lack of the Clone stamp/paint tools kinda shows you what market they are targeting. The motion graphic area.

Apple Motion: motion graphics ($50 keyer that is impressive).
Adobe After Effects: complex animation & motion graphics, visual effects and compositing.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 03 Mar 2012 16:56 #5305

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122

Also from experience there is a better intergration from Cinema 4D to After Effects.


That's the first thing I looked into when I started with Motion, I found the same result. I picked up somewhere that integration between C4d and Motion has recently been improved.

I've also kept a bit of an eye on what's going on with Motion over the last few years, the introduction of the new keyer maybe indicates a possible look in to the future of where it's going. If so it would match up with this integration improvement and hopefully will get better as time goes on.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 22 Mar 2012 14:14 #6042

  • johnnydepp
  • johnnydepp's Avatar
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
The strengths of After Effects are in its animation and automation features. This means that After Effects excels at tasks that can be automated from one frame to another.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 23 Mar 2012 01:52 #6068

  • Scrubelicious
  • Scrubelicious's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: 47
  • Thank you received: 110
NocoDave you never got a answer on the Puppet Tool I can say there's nothing like the AE puppet tool in Motion.
Would be nice to see something like that but I guess the rigging was more important to Apple.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 23 Mar 2012 02:01 #6069

  • NocoDave
  • NocoDave's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: 11
  • Thank you received: 122
I know, I also knew at the time of asking, thanks for the confirmation. It's why I was curious as to how someone could possibly be emulating it, and other things that aren't there.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 06 Jul 2015 19:39 #66230

  • satyapintu
  • satyapintu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
can anybody say, how can i convert after effect project in motion 5???
Please help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 04 Feb 2019 15:02 #98786

  • AndieMoepse
  • AndieMoepse's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: -15
  • Thank you received: 2

BenB wrote: I've yet to find something AE can do that Motion can't.


Wow. Then you clearly know little to nothing about After Effects, Motion or BOTH. Probably the latter, since nothing else could explain such a ludicrous assertion.


NocoDave wrote:

I can do it all in Motion...


I'm interested in how you emulate the puppet tools and AE's shape layers?


He can't. There is no such thing in Motion, as you and I well know. His sudden silence being the dead giveaway. It's just blather, sorry.

As much as I love Motion and know it to be more than enough (and exponentially faster) for probably 90% of what even AE users use AE for, to act as if the last (significant!) 10% don't exist is just ignorant. But then that's no real surprise if you have to base your position on pure hearsay to begin with.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by AndieMoepse.

Possible AE to Motion 5 Converter? 04 Feb 2019 15:34 #98788

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3460
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 476
I stand by my statement. I can do all my work in Motion that is required of me. I’ve also been a certified Motion trainer for a decade plus.

Don’t have a puppet tool, but can still do puppets. Problem is, rarely does any one make puppets. I use Motion fir TV broadcast and have yet to need AE for anything. Mostly using mO2 these days.


But to the OP, no, no reliable way to move projects between them.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by FCPX.guru.
  • Page:
  • 1