- Posts: 233
- Thank you received: 6
3 Post Moderation Rule for New Boarders (25 Jan 2021)
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Delete group without deleting media
- damiangrady
-
Topic Author
- Offline
- Elite Member
-
Less
More
16 Aug 2015 12:49 #67490
by damiangrady
Delete group without deleting media was created by damiangrady
Is there a way to delete a group containing media without deleting the media from the media bin. Whenever I try and do this I end up deleting the media from the project also and I don't want to have to re-import it again.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
16 Aug 2015 13:10 #67493
by BenB
Replied by BenB on topic Delete group without deleting media
Unfortunately not, and I wish there were. If anyone know how, I'd love to learn that. You can import media directly into the Media section, without it being in a Layer/Group. But you can't remove a Layer/Group without removing the media from the Media section. Seems if it works one way, it should work the other, also.
Feedback page again...
Feedback page again...
Please Log in to join the conversation.
16 Aug 2015 13:35 #67496
by Deyson
Replied by Deyson on topic Delete group without deleting media
Hello and good day! 
It seems Motion keeps the media that is used for the particular project. It makes some sense as a way to keep the projects optimized and also since we can quickly access the library folder from inside of Motion.
Out of curiosity why would you like to keep the media if you are not going to use it in the project? This could help determine what would be the best plan of action for your situation. Also, if you plan to use later or somewhere later maybe you could just turn that group layer off until you need that media.
It seems Motion keeps the media that is used for the particular project. It makes some sense as a way to keep the projects optimized and also since we can quickly access the library folder from inside of Motion.
Out of curiosity why would you like to keep the media if you are not going to use it in the project? This could help determine what would be the best plan of action for your situation. Also, if you plan to use later or somewhere later maybe you could just turn that group layer off until you need that media.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
18 Aug 2015 00:37 #67527
by GFXZen
Replied by GFXZen on topic Delete group without deleting media
Go to the preferences for Motion and in the General Tab, uncheck "Automatically manage unused media" in the Media section.
If you do this, when you delete a group with media, the media will stay in the media tab. Note, this an app specific setting. If you want the other behavior you have to turn it back on.
Pros: Media stays in the media tab.
Cons: Potentially larger project files if they reference lots of unused media. Of course you can use the media tab at the end and just manually delete any unused clips.
If you do this, when you delete a group with media, the media will stay in the media tab. Note, this an app specific setting. If you want the other behavior you have to turn it back on.
Pros: Media stays in the media tab.
Cons: Potentially larger project files if they reference lots of unused media. Of course you can use the media tab at the end and just manually delete any unused clips.
Please Log in to join the conversation.
18 Aug 2015 01:13 #67528
by Deyson
Replied by Deyson on topic Delete group without deleting media
Thank you GFXZen! I was not aware of this.
Please Log in to join the conversation.


