fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: How important is it to have a "Metal"-capable graphics card?

How important is it to have a "Metal"-capable graphics card? 17 Sep 2020 05:05 #110084

• Yorick Strangefield
  • Yorick Strangefield's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm currently shopping for a used Mac that can support FCPX with no problems, and I found one that has everything I want at a reasonable price. The only problem is that the graphics card on this machine (AMD Radeon m395) does not appear to be on the list of "Metal"-capable graphics cards, as recommended by Apple.

My question is this: if I were to run FCPX on a machine with this graphics card, will I have problems? What kind of problems would they be?

Thank you for your help.

P.S. This is my first time asking a question on this forum, so if I've done it wrong or anything, please kindly educate me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How important is it to have a "Metal"-capable graphics card? 18 Sep 2020 05:59 #110110

• Tom Wolsky
  • Thank you received: 744
Is the graphics card the original factory installed card? It will work unless it’s a very old machine. The list is only for after market cards, not for factory cards.

How important is it to have a "Metal"-capable graphics card? 18 Sep 2020 11:06 #110113

• joema
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 361

Yorick Strangefield wrote: I'm currently shopping for a used Mac that can support FCPX with no problems, and I found one that has everything I want at a reasonable price...