fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: The most efficient way to edit external in FCPX (HDD & SDD).

The most efficient way to edit external in FCPX (HDD & SDD). 05 Jun 2020 13:03 #107687

• Lemonade
  • Lemonade's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi everyone,

What I would like to know is, in case you edit externally (Creating the Library inside the external SDD), is it recommended to do it, with the Original RAW footage from the camera inside the same SDD drive? or it would be as quick to work with two separate external drives? One being the SDD with the Library inside to EDIT and the other one being the "Cheap" HDD with the Original RAW footage from the camera with the footage linked to the SDD.

I've been editing with FCPX for almost 6 years. I've been doing it (not in an efficient way) in my 2015 MBP this way:

-Export from CAMERA SD card to my external HDD. Once all the media is organized in the HDD I create a Library (inside the MBP with all selected "Inside Library"). Once the library is created I import all my original files (selecting leave files in place) from my HDD to the Library > Event > Project.

I know this is not an efficient way to edit. You run out of space in your internal SDD very quickly. So I've been planning to do it this way now. Let me know please your thoughts.

I just bought the SAMSUNG X5 SDD to edit externally and the brand new MBP 16'' 2019.

1 OPTION:

-Export from the CAMERA SD to the EXTERNAL HDD. Organize all the footage in folders.
-Create a new library inside the EXTERNAL SAMSUNG X5 SDD. (Selecting to locate all in Library).
-Create an EVENT, then create a PROJECT.
-Keep both external drives connected to the MBP. HDD and the X5 SDD.
-IMPORT the footage from the folders on the HDD (selecting leave files in place) to the EVENT.