fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Cross dissolve between clips on different layers/tracks

Cross dissolve between clips on different layers/tracks 27 May 2020 03:32 #107485

• hiphopsuperman
  • hiphopsuperman's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm new to FCPX 10.4.4 from PPro CS6. How am I supposed to add a cross dissolve between 2 clips if they are on different layers? As you can see on the attached screenshot, clip 2 (SECTORS-ALL) is on a higher level, because there is another clip below it.

In PPro, I would move clip 1 (SECTORS MAP) up a track and apply a cross dissolve between the 2 clips. This isn't possible with the magnetic timeline.

This seems so simple, but I can't find the answer anywhere! Any help?
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Cross dissolve between clips on different layers/tracks 27 May 2020 05:36 #107487

• jvo
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
To make transitions between connected clips, you need to move them into a "secondary storyline." See this Apple help article: support.apple.com/guide/final-cut-pro/ad...ines-ver8e3f1748/mac

It looks like "SECTORS-ALL" is already part of a secondary storyline, so just drag that SECTORS-MAP clip you want to dissolve from into the secondary storyline. You can tell what's a storyline by noticing the gray bar across the clip(s) in it.

Cheers.

Cross dissolve between clips on different layers/tracks 27 May 2020 11:43 #107493

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 489
Once you get used to FCPX, you'd have placed all those clips into the same connected storyline naturally. I can see that Infrastructure clip and all the Sectors clips should all be in the same connected storyline to start with.