fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 06:04 #107462

  • digibud
  • digibud's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 0
I can get my Photos, iTunes and Sound Effects to show up in Final Cut Pro but none of my Logic Pro X music files show up, nor do any GarageBand music files. Actually I see 5 GarageBand files and below the list is an message that says "6 files are missing iLife preview and unavailable". iLife?? I am on Mojave and can't/won't update to Catalina if that makes a difference. Any way to get my many gigabytes of Logic Pro (I have downloaded a lot but not all of the sound files) and GarageBand sound files to show up? There is nothing available in "Download Additional Content" in the software update section.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by digibud.

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 13:29 #107468

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3517
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 486
Where are you saving your Logic and Garage band compositions to when you Bounce them out?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 15:56 #107479

  • digibud
  • digibud's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 0
I'm not doing anything in Logic or GarageBand. I am wanting to be able to see, in FCP, the sound files that come with the programs with Logic and GarageBand. FCP gives me access to all my iTunes sound files as well as my Photos so I can use them in FCP projects. FCP also shows GarageBand and Logic Pro X in the same place as if I should be able to view the sound files that come with those programs. It even shows me something like 6 of the Garageband files and I -assume- it should allow me to use the other Garageband and Logic Pro X sound files but they do not show up.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 21:17 #107481

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3517
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 486
Those show you songs you've recorded in those apps and saved to the locaiton it reads. They do not show you all the loops and such that come with those apps.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 21:35 #107482

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1977
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 242
There is a workaround to enable FCPX to show GarageBand Loops. Here is a Ripple Training video showing how to do that:
www.rippletraining.com/blog/final-cut-pr...eband-loops-in-fcpx/

As for Logic Pro X, there are ways to create aliases and place them in the appropriate path so FCPX sees them, but I seriously doubt you'd want 45+ GB of sound files and loops populating in your FCPX sound library.
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

missing Logic Pro X and GarageBand music 26 May 2020 23:39 #107483

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3517
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 486
Yeah, if you want to work that intensively with that massive of a loop library, you really need to go to GarageBand and Logic to do that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by FCPX.guru.
  • Page:
  • 1