fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Danger when collectively peaking at -0db? Or just right?

Danger when collectively peaking at -0db? Or just right? 31 Dec 2019 16:03 #103663

• inVirgo
  • inVirgo's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello and happy New Year to you all!

I have limited video editing experience and I'm in the process of creating my first video for Youtube. I'm using Final Cut Pro X.

The thing I'm working on contains VO, B-roll w/ audio attached, SFX, and music. To give all of these elements the impact I feel they need, I have to make my audio peak fairly consistently around the -2db to -0db mark.

But when the audio peaks at -0, the red warning signal doesn't flash. I assume this means I haven't breached 0.0db and everything is okay. But I wanted to ask anyone with experience whether it is bad to be peaking at 0db, even if it's not flashing. Is the final cut pro audio meter completely accurate? Will it potentially distort on Youtube despite appearing to be fine in the NLE?

Needless to say, I really want to make a video with good audio , so any advice you could give me would be hugely appreciated.

Thank you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Danger when collectively peaking at -0db? Or just right? 01 Jan 2020 05:51 #103670

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 486
If you are outputting for web or computer playback, it's OK.
If you are outputting for broadcast, huge not OK, stay around -6db.
Point is, it all depends on your final delivery/distribution method.

Danger when collectively peaking at -0db? Or just right? 02 Jan 2020 07:00 #103677

• Redifer
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 79