fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Consolidate Library Media not workiing

Consolidate Library Media not workiing 04 Dec 2019 11:57 #102985

  • RichieOKeeffe
  • RichieOKeeffe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello,

As I'm sure most people do, I use the "Consolidate library media" command when I am finished a job and want to archive it. However, I've noticed that since upgrading to Catalina and FCPX 10.4.7, this no longer fully works. As a test, when I tried it today, It copied about 60% of the media, leaving the rest as symlinks. I see no reason why it selected one clip over the other to copy and one to keep as an alias.

I work on a server over SMB which might have something to do with it. Is anyone else seeing issues around this and does anyone have a workable solution. Premiere does this pretty well which is really disappointing!

Thanks!
Richie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Consolidate Library Media not workiing 04 Dec 2019 12:12 #102986

  • RichieOKeeffe
  • RichieOKeeffe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 0
As a follow up to my own question, I have followed Apple's instructions on consolidation and it seems to work - Modify the library settings in the inspector to store all media in the library and then hit consolidate in the inspector. This seems to work.

So in the past I used to use the File>Consolidate library Media command, which no longer works. When you use this option, it tells you it has worked when it hasn't. Media management should not be this messy!

Does anyone else have experience on this? What is your process? Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Consolidate Library Media not workiing 04 Dec 2019 12:46 #102988

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4349
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 697
You have to change the library storage location first regardless of which command you use.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Consolidate Library Media not workiing 04 Dec 2019 13:28 #102989

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • Online
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1364
  • Karma: 27
  • Thank you received: 284
Apple says if you're hosting a library on an SMB network share, that volume must originate from a macOS server or a Linux server running Samba 4.3.4 or later configured with modules for Apple compatibility: support.apple.com/en-us/HT207128

I think the other option would be use NFS.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Consolidate Library Media not workiing 04 Dec 2019 14:22 #102991

  • RichieOKeeffe
  • RichieOKeeffe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 0
Thanks Tom and Joema for the input.

I did not have to take those extra steps with previous versions but glad it seems to work anyway.

Best,
Richie

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1