fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 05 Feb 2019 13:00 #98799

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
Not posted for a bit, hopefully someone can advise

I am working on a project (actually several small 5-10 min projects.. I have background rendering on, once completed its fine..

When I close FCPX and open it up again, the projects start rendering again!!

Any ideas a s to why this is happening if I haven't changed or added anything??

PS using latest FCPX release and latest OSX Mojave
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by gaddster.

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 05 Feb 2019 13:20 #98801

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 517
Why do you have background rendering on? I'd turn it off, wastes disk space, wastes CPU time, shouldn't be needed in most cases. This is a bug. But again, why are you keeping background rendering turned on?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 05 Feb 2019 13:23 #98802

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
good point, why do I have it on.. guess im just used to it rendering whilst I work on two machines at once

Will switch it off and see if this speeds up my process
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 05 Feb 2019 13:49 #98803

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3736
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 517
99% of the time you don't need it. It is only there for situations when your Mac is too old or underpowered and can't give you good enough playback for editing. Turn it off, delete all your render files, be free.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 05 Feb 2019 14:38 #98804

  • gaddster
  • gaddster's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 262
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks, thought it was my late 2013 iMac i7 slowing down for some reason
MBP retina 15" 2014
imac 27 i7 2013
G-tech
Panasonic GH4, AC90, Gopro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re-rendering every time I open up FCPX projects 10 Feb 2019 21:24 #98885

  • nick314
  • nick314's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 27
  • Thank you received: 3
Because Apple is dropping the ball constantly these days. Are you using native only plugins or red giant/neat etc.. as well? 10.4.4 introduced this re-rendering bug and have been going mute on the feedback forms. They used to reply once in a while, now they run on auto-pilot not fixing any bugs that show up. Report it as I have and hope for the best.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1