fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 04:47 #91571

  • fayez.musallam
  • fayez.musallam's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 0
I've tried to research this before this post and can't seem to find an answer. I want to see if I'm able to blade a clip into 1 frame sections. For example having a 50 frame clip cut into individual frames. I know i can sit there and use the right arrow and command B , but I feel like there has to be a way to select the clip and have it bladed into frames. I've tried the jump to marker ( 3 frame) cut but i don't want that . picture a nice warm baguette and using a bread cutter to efficiently slice them into bite size piece with one cut. hope there is a way . thanks in advance guys.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 04:52 #91572

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4361
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 698
Why do you want to do this? Maybe you should export an image sequence.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 11:09 #91574

  • lichinho
  • lichinho's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 61
I can't imagine why you'd want to do that either.
But it is easy to do with a little Applescript -;)

tell application "Final Cut Pro"
activate
end tell

tell application "System Events"
repeat 50 times
key code 124
keystroke "B" using {command down}
end repeat

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 15:02 #91577

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: 5
  • Thank you received: 18
You could import that clip into Photoshop which would make each frame a layer, and then export an image sequence as Tom mentioned. I don’t know if you can do that in FCP, which would skip the PS step.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 16:34 #91579

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4228
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 892
Hi Fayez,

You can do this right inside FCP X and without having to blade anything.

As Tom said, exporting an image sequence is the solution. And this couldn't be easier:

1. Click the Share button and press Add Destination.



2. Drag the Export Image Sequence destination into the Destinations pane.



3. Click the Export Image Sequence destination and select the format for your individual frames (TIFF, PNG, JPEG...)



Now all you need to do is Share your video clip and select Export Image Sequence as your destination format. Your 50 frame clip will be exported as 50 individual frames.

- Ronny
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by ronny courtens.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 17:12 #91580

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 754
  • Karma: 5
  • Thank you received: 18
Cool Ronny! Have not heard from you or BenB in a while. Still love you both....I suppose this is off topic thoughj :cheer:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 17:18 #91581

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4228
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 892
No worries, Jonathan. I still read all the posts here on a daily basis, but I don't have much time anymore to answer them. Fortunately there are a lot of great members here who have taken over this task and who do this brilliantly. I mostly work behind the scenes now, but I'm busier than ever with FCP X (-:

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Blade / Splice one clip into 1 frame cuts 08 Nov 2017 19:09 #91582

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3161
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 416
Me too, I have a few TV shows I'm production on, so not as much time as I once had. But read when I can, answer here and there. Like Ronny said, lots of knowledgable members answering just fine.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1