fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: LUFS metering inside FCPX

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 09:48 #75209

  • Joris Vertenten
  • Joris Vertenten's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 22
  • Thank you received: 2
Hi, is there anybody using a LUFS meter inside FCPX.

- Is there a LUFS meter in LogicX?
- Are there only more expensive plugins like Izotope and Waves, do you use them?
- Is this cheaper www.klangfreund.com/lufsmeter/ a viable professional solution.

I would Compound Clip the final mix and put the Lufs meter on that... right?

Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 09:55 #75210

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1279
What exactly is your goal?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 10:01 #75212

  • Joris Vertenten
  • Joris Vertenten's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 22
  • Thank you received: 2
Well, I'm just interested.
I'm not an audio engineer, but I wanna have a go at becoming a freelance editor.
I think I can finnish the audio from a docu or some show myself, so I'm looking on how if I can deliver industry standards.

(I check my final audio mix now, with the free Voxengo Span plugin, but applying this one causes crashes from time to time)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Joris Vertenten.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 10:33 #75215

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1279
I've done audio my whole life, came to video from pro audio work. I've very rarely ever needed LUFS meters. I wouldn't bother sweating them. Becoming familiar with them is interesting, but not necessary. I know lots of broadcast editors who've never touched them, ever.

Yeah, not a lot of options out there for FCPX or LPX. Here's one I've played with in LPX, but I don't ever bother with them, really.
www.logic-templates.com/lufs-meter-free-mastering-plugin.html

If you have one that is crashing FCPX, contact the developer's tech support and see what they say.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 10:38 #75216

  • Joris Vertenten
  • Joris Vertenten's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 22
  • Thank you received: 2
Ok, thanks Ben.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 11:34 #75218

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1279
But yes, by all means, find one that works, and learn it. Can't hurt, and it is the "new thing" in audio. Learn about it, learn to use it, it could come in very handy some day! Never stop learning new things! Even if it's just for fun!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 14:44 #75222

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 247
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 39
This is not a plugin but it could be a good and simple tool to achieve "Loundness" compliant deliveries...

www.videotoolshed.com/product/loudness-change/

The information on this page is quite interesting...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Francois.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 14:59 #75224

  • peteramwiggins
  • peteramwiggins's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • The Administrator :)
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 377
Ben,

Monitoring LUFS is now part of the AS11 delivery standard to all UK broadcasters and possibly other European ones too I would imagine.

It is a BIG thing here and your programme can get rejected for not being at the overall correct LUF level.

Peter
Administrator

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 12 Apr 2016 15:00 #75225

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 247
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 39
I believe until FCPX has real mixing function as proposed in their patent it will be almost impossible to achieve real LUFs Compliance even going through a compound clip. For now it should be done outside FCPX exporting stems or going in a mixing software like Logic pro X or the other one ....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Francois.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 13 Apr 2016 01:07 #75273

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1981
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 242
Here is a useful explanation of LUFS and why it is beneficial. Apparently also required in the US according to the tutorial.
productionadvice.co.uk/lufs-dbfs-rms/
Creating history....one edit at a time !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 13 Apr 2016 05:10 #75274

  • Deano
  • Deano's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time Gather ye rosebuds while ye may, Old Time is still a-flying: And this same flower that smiles to-day To-morrow will be dying. The glorious lamp of heaven, the sun, The higher he's a-getting, The sooner will hi
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 10
After delivering more than 100 EP Masters to National Broadcasters in Oz out of FCP X, I think I can make some brief comment here.

In Australia, most broadcasters want LKFS compliance - which is essentially the same as LUFS.

In our case, we perform a disciplined mix down to say -6DB. It could be -12DB. The key thing is watching for excessive 'DB Variance' as its when you then send the Audio export to a plug-in or 3rd party application - you could be QC'd for low levels.

We export our audio through NUGEN's 'LM Correct':

NUGEN AUDIO

You set the right parameters, and will comply your audio in a single pass.

It does cost $399.

...and you still need to apply a diligent sound mix prior to processing.

Its like I get antsy when editors just plaster broadcast safe filters on projects without a disciplined colour grade first. Same theory applies, here. ;-)

Dean....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Deano.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 13 Apr 2016 12:26 #75299

  • BenB
  • BenB's Avatar
  • Offline
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Posts: 10103
  • Karma: -34
  • Thank you received: 1279
I don't know anyone in the US actually using LUFS yet as regular workflow. I know I've seen delivery specs from some cable network companies that don't mention it. It's coming here, but not today. Like I said, learn it, get used to it, someday you'll need it. Here in the U.S.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 13 Apr 2016 21:46 #75336

  • Enoch Jones
  • Enoch Jones's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 3
  • Thank you received: 1
Logic Pro X now has LUFS metering in the Multimeter tool

Invalid consumer key/secret in configuration

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 07 May 2018 18:18 #95421

  • zalee
  • zalee's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Apple Certified Trainer, Picture Editor, Colorist, Motion Graphics Designer, Social Entrepreneur and a Digital Evangelist.
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 1
A FREE version for LUFS Metering inside FCPX.
This is very crucial with our local Broadcasters.

youlean.co/

Tutorial here:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 08 May 2018 19:36 #95438

  • DC-W
  • DC-W's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 19
  • Thank you received: 4

zalee wrote: A FREE version for LUFS Metering inside FCPX.
This is very crucial with our local Broadcasters.

youlean.co/

Tutorial here:


That's awesome! Thanks so much!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 09 May 2018 07:10 #95440

  • Scrubelicious
  • Scrubelicious's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: 47
  • Thank you received: 110
For them, that like to know and understand.
Here is a nice article from frame.io 5 Broadcast Audio Specs Every Editor Must Understand

Enjoy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 09 May 2018 12:07 #95441

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3584
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 496
That free one is only a meter, and you have to adjust a compressor manually.
Klangfreund has a specialized compressor built-in and will automatically adjust to the levels you set after the analysis phase.

And I'm not using Klangfreund for my broadcast submissions. I like Youlean's meter, but I find I get through a timeline faster with Kangfreund. Just a matter of personal preference.

Now, if the FCPX team would put the Logic meter into FCPX, or purchase the Kangfreund meter and include it natively.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 09 May 2018 19:30 #95446

  • AppleGuru
  • AppleGuru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 293
  • Karma: -4
  • Thank you received: 3

BenB wrote: I've done audio my whole life, came to video from pro audio work. I've very rarely ever needed LUFS meters. I wouldn't bother sweating them. Becoming familiar with them is interesting, but not necessary. I know lots of broadcast editors who've never touched them, ever.

Yeah, not a lot of options out there for FCPX or LPX. Here's one I've played with in LPX, but I don't ever bother with them, really.
www.logic-templates.com/lufs-meter-free-mastering-plugin.html

If you have one that is crashing FCPX, contact the developer's tech support and see what they say.

FCPX.guru wrote: That free one is only a meter, and you have to adjust a compressor manually.
Klangfreund has a specialized compressor built-in and will automatically adjust to the levels you set after the analysis phase.

And I'm not using Klangfreund for my broadcast submissions. I like Youlean's meter, but I find I get through a timeline faster with Kangfreund. Just a matter of personal preference.

Now, if the FCPX team would put the Logic meter into FCPX, or purchase the Kangfreund meter and include it natively.


same guy with two different accounts, can get confusing!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 09 May 2018 23:55 #95449

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3584
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 496
Yes, I was gone for awhile. Look how old the first post is.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

LUFS metering inside FCPX 10 May 2018 19:57 #95467

  • AppleGuru
  • AppleGuru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 293
  • Karma: -4
  • Thank you received: 3
still two different accounts same person. :whistle: B)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2