fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Draw Mask bug in 10.2

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:09 #63150

  • damiangrady
  • damiangrady's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 6
Anyone else get this?

If I scale a clip and move it in X and Y (or just x or y) and then apply the Draw Mask effect, once I complete the loop of points, the position transforms reset to zero.

So, basically, I can only use this effect on unscaled, unmoved clips. That can't be right!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:13 #63151

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4479
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 731
It works if you do the transform after you've drawn the mask.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:17 #63152

  • damiangrady
  • damiangrady's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 230
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 6
It shouldn't really move at all should it Tom? Surely that's a bug?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by damiangrady.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:19 #63153

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4479
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 731
I'd call it a bug. Definitely report.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:31 #63155

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4237
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 895
Hey Damien,

It's a little bug, and it only affects the X and Y Position parameters, not the Scale. Please submit a bug report.

A workaround for now is to put the repositioned clip into a CC and apply the mask to the CC.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 17:39 #63159

  • anickt
  • anickt's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: 12
  • Thank you received: 59
Maybe it's just me but why wouldn't you draw the mask before scaling or moving the clip in the first place since it would be easier to draw the mask on the full-screen video?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 28 Apr 2015 18:31 #63764

  • adwise
  • adwise's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Definitely a bug. I had the same issue and fortunately found this thread so I could stop wondering what the heck was going on. If you apply the mask, then delete the mask, your transform data is still gone.

As to why apply the mask after transforming, you can easily increase the display size of the viewer to zoom the area you want to mask.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 13 May 2015 12:38 #64422

  • canelson
  • canelson's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 242
  • Karma: 9
  • Thank you received: 46
Reported to Apple using the feedback page.

Until fixed you can copy the attributes for the clip, do the "draw mask" and then paste attributes for position. That's what I do.
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1