TOPIC: Is this problem solvable?

Is this problem solvable 05 Jun 2020 09:26 #107677

• phil@circuitfactory.ae
  • phil@circuitfactory.ae's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi Guys,

I've been using FCPX for 5 years and never come across an issue that i cannot solve - this simple issue is killing me.

I am trying to import some video files from my SD Card onto Final Cut on my 2017 iMac, running Mojave 10.14.6. I am using identical SD cards. The iMac recognises the videos on one card and cannot pick them up on the other.

My and a friend's Macbook Pros read both SD cards. No problem. But the iMac only reads one. I have tried replacing the SD card, formatting the card. Changing the video from NTCS to PAL, deleting preferences. Uninstalling and reinstalling FCPX.

Nothing has solved it. The iMac likes one card and doesn't recognise another.

Are there any geniuses on here that can resolve this issue?

Thank you in advance!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Is this problem solvable 05 Jun 2020 11:59 #107682

• FCPX.guru
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Thank you received: 509
If it is consistently the same SD card that is problematic, it's the card, not the Mac. There's something about that card that specific Mac can't error correct for. Replace the card, I'd consider it unreliable. Even if another Mac can read it.

What's different about the two Macs? OS version? FCPX version? Are you using internal card slots or external, third party readers? Same readers on both? And what do you mean "cannot pick them up" exactly? Doesn't see them, can't copy them?

Is this problem solvable 05 Jun 2020 12:41 #107685

• joema
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 352