fcp.co logo transparent
fcp clapperboard
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
25 Jan 2021
New boarders will have their posts moderated - Don't worry if you cannot see your post immediately.
Read More...
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC:

Blackmagic raw: What's the big delay Apple? 23 Mar 2019 09:04 #99399

  • BJansch
  • BJansch's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Member
  • Senior Member
  • Posts: 77
  • Thank you received: 2
Does anyone know why Apple still haven't enabled compatibility with Blackmagic Raw?

FFS Apple, sort it out!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Blackmagic raw: What's the big delay Apple? 23 Mar 2019 13:36 #99403

  • cseeman
  • cseeman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 61
Let's hope it'll be in the next big (or small) update. I know there's some market competition between ProRes Raw and Blackmagic Raw but I hope Apple realizes that, without an update, some people may be shifting to Resolve out of necessity.

Obviously, no one knows (or if they know they wouldn't be able to say) so all anyone can do is speculate.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by cseeman.

Blackmagic raw: What's the big delay Apple? 23 Mar 2019 13:46 #99404

  • Ben Balser
  • Ben Balser's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 4390
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 629
Does their software support ProRes RAW?

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Blackmagic raw: What's the big delay Apple? 23 Mar 2019 14:04 #99406

You mean BM partially cooked? ;)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Blackmagic raw: What's the big delay Apple? 23 Mar 2019 15:38 #99410

  • cseeman
  • cseeman's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 61

FCPX.guru wrote: Does their software support ProRes RAW?


Does Apple provide an SDK or whatever tools are needed for support?
As an aside, it's interesting to note that Premiere on Windows can now export Apple ProRes and I don't think Resolve on Windows does (yet).

Maybe there's some Apple Blackmagic licensing negotiating going on (then again maybe not).

Please Log in to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1