fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: FCP7 vs High Sierra

FCP7 vs High Sierra 22 Oct 2017 15:42 #91237

  • davechap
  • davechap's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • I'm like a 900 page Harry Potter novel.
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 19
Without getting into why you are still using an app from 2009 that was EOL'ed in 2011, how about working with the project in Premiere Pro? Doesn't Premiere import FCP7 projects without an XML export/import?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 23 Oct 2017 02:05 #91241

  • spurratic
  • spurratic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 5
Great reason to upgrade to X.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 23 Oct 2017 08:59 #91243

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4237
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Doesn't Premiere import FCP7 projects without an XML export/import?

No, it doesn't.

To the OP:

If you only use FCP (or any old 32-bit application) there is no reason to update your OS to High Sierra at all. If you really want to benefit from the latest technology, use FCP X. The transition is very easy, and you will be surprised how much it will improve your editing experience.

- Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 23 Oct 2017 09:30 #91244

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
Yip if you upgrade to High Sierra, the disks of fInal cut pro 6/7 are coasters, useless... Apple sent emails to users it had on record saying HS would be the 1st to stop using 32bit pro apps...I suspect the new file format system [?] is one of the reasons...

I kind of wish and keep writing to Apple to ask for a "sandboxing" of pro apps, given the sound effect library in FCP6/7 is huge...To throw that away is criminal!!!

Just partition off the hard drive in 2 parts, one with HS and one using a lower grade OS..Then install FCP6/7 on the lower grade OS...

But really time to move on, leave the ox wagons and get used to driving a hybrid...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 15 Jan 2018 05:27 #93299

  • oneironaut
  • oneironaut's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Thank you received: 0
I know it's been awhile, but for anyone looking for more information like I've been, there is a program called FCS Remover, which lets you uninstall exactly what portions of which FCS apps you want to get rid of, and lets you keep the things you want. For instance, you can have the app itself, the preferences and other things you'll never use, but keep all the content libraries.

There is also an app called Send to X which will take FCP 7 and Premiere Pro projects and make them FCP X-compatible.

I'm still having a hard time deciding if I'm going to upgrade to High Sierra or not. It's been months and I can't help wondering if I'll ever need FCP 7 again.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 15 Jan 2018 11:26 #93302

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
My advice about fcp7..I would suggest a small partition on the primary drive, install the last operating system that works with FCP7, set and forget...

Upgrade and install High Sierra and start to edit using fcpx, there is no point using an outdated non linear system, but that tiny partition may one day be useful, you dont have to worry about it, you know it is there...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 04:08 #95520

  • bill.russell
  • bill.russell's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 2
Well... interesting problem. Bought a new iMac Pro for Davinci, Fusion, AE, FCPX, etc., with the intention of adding a second boot, with Sierra or earlier for access to FCP7. But... iMac Pro won't accept the install (or external boot) of ANY OS other than High Sierra.

Uh oh.

This could be enough to ditch the iMac Pro for a beefed up iMac, because I have past projects for clients I need to be able to access, unique plug-ins and renders and all, and yes, even have a current documentary project that came in on FCP7. This is bad.

FCP better truly be incompatible with High Sierra, because if Apple intentionally hobbled it (which they will do sometimes for various reasons), then it's time to curse their name, pierce an Apple VooDoo doll (huh, maybe just a real apple will do in this case), mail in bags of bird poo, etc. etc..

P.S. FYI FCP7 won't run in VMs due to lack of GPU support (VMWare, Parallels, Virtualbox, tried 'em all).

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 05:12 #95522

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
The most obvious solution is to buy a used old mac of some kind, laptop or imac, and install an older reliable OS that runs FCP7, something like El Cap.

What seems obvious would have been to write code that allows sandboxing of 32bit professional apps, final cut studio, logic, shake.

Apple don;t think like the rest of the planet, what happens on the mothership is a mystery...It is really a stupid decision to just blindly deny access...Yeah yeah 32bit and all that...you are 100% correct, old projects often need re-editing, it happens...

Apple sadly is not focused on the task at hand...It thinks it knows what is best for you and for me, and for every user out there...Apple you don't know...stop this...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 11:24 #95528

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3591
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 497
Yes, all computer developers should support software that was written in super outdated code at the time it was EOL'ed, and NOT give us newer, more powerful technologies in the OS. Yes, that is absolutely correct. Apple is stupid! Don't use Apple products any longer! Leave Apple! New hardware should not be faster and more powerful, it should support really old, outdated OS versions! How utterly stupid of Apple! Everyone leave Apple, cause they're stupid!

Now, does anyone know how to get this 8-track tape deck to work in my 2018 Corvette? Cause it's way better than the satellite radio it comes with!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by FCPX.guru.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 11:35 #95531

  • MsJustine
  • MsJustine's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Banned
  • Banned
  • I am in Durban, safe and warm...
  • Posts: 971
  • Karma: -76
  • Thank you received: 46
No that is wrong and you know it.

I listed 3 apps that are professional in nature, that have a long history and will remain professional for a long time to come, kind of like having to keep leaded gas, as there are cars that still require it, maybe at 300 years you might consider taking away leaded gasoline.

Sandboxing is a great solution, it works when it needs to, there are countries that only use FCP7 as it is more cost effective, archives are built around this old system.

I personally feel it should be mandatory for Apple and other tech firms to support through some means legacy software, it is software, I can understand the obsolete path of tech 2 days after it has been released...that makes sense.

Apple has made an error of judgement, no 2 errors, firewire in 2018, when most modern devices don't support it, and legacy code support for Final Cut Studio 2/3.

Actually how hard would it be to re-code HS so that when you install HS it actually partitions the SSD of your choice into 2, 1 large for HS and 1 for legacy, you decide this at the install stage, and once the HS OS is installed and you need an older OS, you can install it as part of the 2nd stage of install??

I would suggest that Final Cut Studio has a long life span ahead, sure it was not loved by Apple, and terminated very quickly, and Apple being Apple will not support it, fine, accepted..

If Apple have EOL'ed this app, then why not just throw it onto the web, warts and all, to Apple it has zero value, like a used paper coffee cup, why not give the code away so that others can keep it alive????

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 11:47 #95532

  • spurratic
  • spurratic's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 2
  • Thank you received: 5
I agree with some others that the solution is to find yourself a second Mac that is a couple of years older and Install sierra on it. I have a 2015 MacBook Pro i7 that runs FCP7 great if I ever needed to open (although I just opened it once and exported Xmls of all my timelines)

People that still require FCP7 are just goIng to have to keep their machines and do not upgrade the OS. Or buy one of the many 2013 Mac Pros that are for sale whenever a production house upgrades to new iMac Pros or the New Mac Pro (hopefully coming soon).

If you choose to live in the past with your software, (and yes it’s a choice, they could simply XML everything to FCpX and keep working), then you have to keep living in the past with your machine too.

Would be nice if somehow Apple allowed older software to run in new OS, but they shouldn’t be expected to. The majority of users want better performance, not access to legacy software

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by spurratic.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 12:03 #95533

  • davechap
  • davechap's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • I'm like a 900 page Harry Potter novel.
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 19
Final Cut Pro 7 was released in 2009. Final Cut Pro X was released in 2011, but arguably was fully featured between 2012 and 2013. The biggest head scratcher for me is why haven't you moved those old projects to FCPX with 7toX or an XML workaround through Resolve? Or why haven't you moved them to Premiere?

I find it crazy that FCP7 has worked all the way up through Sierra.

What are your options now?
- Export Masters in ProRes (which should have been done already anyways)
- Export project XMLs
- Import those XMLs into Premiere or Resolve—it's your choice. For the people that are anti-subscription, Resolve is free. Everyone else that has Creative Cloud, just download Premiere.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 17 May 2018 12:39 #95534

  • bill.russell
  • bill.russell's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 2
Upvote. Thank you.

For me it's not relevant or, really, informed (about who I may be and what I may do) to speak of it as a "choice" so much as a need, a part of my work. Sure, in your professional life it is your "choice" to do your work, but again, that's not really relevant or helpful to the discussion. I use Resolve extensively, FCPX somewhat, but also need FCP7 in my work. The projects are so enormous and complex typically with the onlines, gradings and animations I have done that conversion is untenable -- restoring and replicating hundreds of instances of manual keyframing and sizing, and the attendant relinking errors certainly familiar to those of you who have gone to such depths, not the full-time moonlighting that's worth any professional's time on old projects -- and not possible anyway with the extensive use of third-party legacy filtering.

Anyway, yes, you're right about the second Mac. Indeed I already have it and had intended to sell it for about $1000, a nice chunk of change still, but am forced to keep it set up in a stupid, super in-the-way place, a nine-pound hammer of a solution. It may in the end be more sensible to ditch iMac Pro (a choice) -- a prospect I truly resent, as this legacy OS limitation is pointless (even Sierra??) -- and go for the newest iMac. In short, this all sucks, trust me, those who want to poo poo it from the back seat of my own car, it really does suck. Be nice.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 18 May 2018 11:44 #95551

  • davechap
  • davechap's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • I'm like a 900 page Harry Potter novel.
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 19
The latest 5K iMac (maxed out) is a great machine, and honestly I preferred it over the iMac Pro too. Especially the base model. I’m not sure what updates Apple has planned for it this year, but the latest 5K iMac also has user replaceable ram.

I’d go for the 5k iMac. But I’d still export masters from FCP7 and the XML. Not because that’s what a professional would do, but because that’s a good backup procedure.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 18 May 2018 12:10 #95552

  • bill.russell
  • bill.russell's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 2

MsJustine wrote: No that is wrong and you know it.

I listed 3 apps that are professional in nature, that have a long...I would suggest that Final Cut Studio has a long life span ahead, sure it was not loved by Apple, and terminated very quickly, and Apple being Apple will not support it, fine, accepted..

If Apple have EOL'ed this app, then why not just throw it onto the web, warts and all, to Apple it has zero value, like a used paper coffee cup, why not give the code away so that others can keep it alive????


Upvote. Yup.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 18 May 2018 15:22 #95555

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 972
  • Karma: 28
  • Thank you received: 197
Bill Russel
Apple has always prevented newer hardware from running older OS's it is part of the EFI code. No surprise that your new iMacPro won't run anything except HS. Interesting about VM as restrictions were mostly about booting.
Caution and question to the community, Will the latest 2017 iMac 5K even run Sierra? I think not but can't test this. The latest version ships with HS and maybe won't run earlier OS version???
Bill if I am right, then you would have to buy one generation older iMac/MP/MBP, why would you want to if you already own a Mac that can run FCP7, and take a big production hit on all future work by getting rid of your iMacPro for the few times you need FCP7? Over time the iMacPro will more than pay back a $1,000 especially with all the apps you run. Or you could sell it, get a even older laptop, install FCP7, put in closet and pocket the difference in $$.
Haven't opened 7 in long time, hope I won't ever :P

Hope this Helps, Greg
p.s. Sorry if I poo poo in your car, just wanted to warn you about latest iMac may not run Sierra either :unsure:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 18 May 2018 15:27 #95556

  • davechap
  • davechap's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • I'm like a 900 page Harry Potter novel.
  • Posts: 193
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 19
My 2017 5K iMac shipped with Sierra (I forget which version), so it can run Sierra. You'd have to have an installer disk for Sierra (the latest version) to do an erase/install of the OS. I've run into an issue before where an older OS couldn't install because the hardware required a minimum version (a later dot release). So if you have an installer thumb drive already for Sierra, just make sure it's the latest so you don't run into that.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 21 May 2018 08:22 #95583

  • bill.russell
  • bill.russell's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 6
  • Thank you received: 2
Thanks, guys, really. It's been helpful. I'm just frustrated about the whole snafu, I suppose. I'll keep the old computer in tow just so I can open FCP projects, sigh. In the "normal" world, newer versions of software open older projects intact (filters too, no translations necessary, "intact" being the key word) -- AE, Premiere, Photoshop, hell even Avid 8 opens Avid 4 projects. Meanwhile, Apple disappeared a whole industry built around FCS in one snap of the gauntlet. (See what I did there?)

I've always made a practice of exporting masters -- master, textless, M&E, etc., so thanks for the advice and worry not, I do have that covered. Still, it comes up that I need to open projects. For instance, a series we started years ago (plug - get your Biffle & Shooster on Amazon now!) recently sold to Kino Lorber, and that involved a few re-edits and lots of additions. The matting and filtering and effects on these shorts are... well, maybe later I'll share a screenshot of a timeline, you'll get the idea!

The Larry Blamire movies (I know, Google him) are similarly complex on the timeline, going all the way back to 2002, and have moved not just through distributors but owners as well. The films live on and on in themed event screenings and as fodder in fun new projects. Eventually, I'll be making 4k image sequences (that better DCPs can be made from), and want to go back in and redo some things first, re-composite some things that have never held up beyond SD.

Documentaries have similar lives too. Crazy Wisdom began in the '70s, 16mm flatbed work prints. Work resumed early 2000's, then again late 2000's. It's meat lives in FCP. The film had its festival and television run, but still bounces around in specialty / educational screenings, given the subject matter. Same with No Mas Bebes. (I know I'm name-dropping films you never heard of, but, well, just go with it. Let's just say in illustration of how tied into the FCP7 I am, we are.) I've even graded and onlined in FCP7, on to layback to sail through QCs at HBO, BBC, History Channel, Sony North American theatrical (that would be Lost Skeleton film-out, but there are some technical qualifications to talk about on this one).

Folks forget how "big" (original) FCP was at one time. How many industry seminars have I been to? I know plenty of people who still have it and still use it on their films, not in small part because their projects span years. (Also, some are luddites, but okay.) And well, they already have it, know it, like it -- subscription-free to boot. I know one facility that keeps it around for one task only: If they ever need to lay something back to tape. Blackmagic equipped FCP7 deck control is easy right off a timeline, robust and just works. I know FCP is still used elsewhere in the world in community centers, vocational schools, local television, what have you.

Wouldn't surprise me if around the entire world you still have a count of, I dunno, users numbering in seven figures. I'll be the first to lay down hundred bucks on the donationware that installs and launches FCS in High Sierra and beyond. There's a hidden market for it, I guarantee it!

It's late and this is how I procrastinate, pontificating to an empty room. G'nite!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 22 Apr 2020 16:30 #106426

  • kanaja
  • kanaja's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 4
  • Thank you received: 0

bill.russell wrote: // full quote //




Sorry a question, I have a mac pro 2010 with an AMD RX 580 8gb with high sierra, I would like to install el capitan and then fcp7, do you think the rx 580 will be recognized by fcpx and el capitan?
thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Karsten Schlüter.

FCP7 vs High Sierra 23 Apr 2020 12:04 #106454

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3591
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 497
I personally have not seen a Mac running legacy FCP nor met anyone still using 7 professionally. Man, that's YEARS old and such a PITA to keep a legacy Mac running it. It isn't necessary for any reason but personal preference.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2