fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Media offline though it isn't.

Media offline though it isn't. 24 Mar 2014 20:35 #43342

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Hey guys. Had to restore a project from a back up and a few connected clips in the timeline are showing up as offline even though I can see them in the Event browser.

I cannot match frame to the clip, I cannot relink it, the only thing I can do is re-edit the clip in again. Very strange.

I've trashed prefs, restarted etc with no luck. Not the end of the world but I'd like to figure out why this happened.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 24 Mar 2014 21:00 #43344

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 766
  • Karma: 5
  • Thank you received: 19
Seanus,

Try selecting clip in timeline and then hit Shift-f and see if the timeline clip is "seeing" the clip in the browser.

Ronny taught me this. But if it is not finding that clip, not sure what is going on.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 24 Mar 2014 22:57 #43349

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Yeah tried that. Get the message it can't be found or created. Highlighting all the clips in the timeline and selecting Relink brings up the box with nothing in it. Very weird.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 24 Mar 2014 22:59 #43350

  • plysat
  • plysat's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 592
  • Karma: 13
  • Thank you received: 67
Even though you can see them in the browser, try dragging the clips from the Finder into the Event/Library they are in...
Can't sleep? Try this: fcpxpert.net ;-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 07:30 #43362

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Seen this before and have sent feedback to Apple.

Dragging the clip back in from the Finder will probably work (it did for us), but this does not solve the problem because you will have to re-edit it anyway.

When you select Relink and you set the relink options to "All clips" instead of "Missing", can you select the problematic files in the list and relink these files?

-Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 08:58 #43365

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Hi Ronnie.

No I cannot relink, nothing shows up. As far as FCPX is concerned all media is online.
I think it also has something to do with Snapshots and the fact that I was putting my edits in a Projects Event while my footage is in a Rushes Event. Might rethink that strategy going forward.

But yeah things seriously broken. I fixed it all manually but what a pain. I feel a lot less confident about media management in FCPX now.

Let's hope 10.1.2 cleans this up.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 09:18 #43369

  • Andreas Kiel
  • Andreas Kiel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1024
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 175
Sean,

Have you tried to export an XML and re-import.
Exporting will try to re-establish connections between clips and events in a different way.

-Andreas

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 09:31 #43370

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Hi Andreas,

This is an excellent suggestion and it may work. I wish I had thought of this when we had the same problem ;)

Nevertheless I agree with Sean this should not happen at all, and I'm sure they are working hard to fix all this.

@Sean:

Do you mean you don't see any clips listed when you try to relink with the "All" option selected in the Relink window? "All" should show any clip you have used in your Project, offline and online clips, and you should be able to force-relink any of these clips. This method worked for us.




-Ronny
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 12:35 #43377

  • Andreas Kiel
  • Andreas Kiel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1024
  • Karma: 32
  • Thank you received: 175

ronny courtens wrote: Nevertheless I agree with Sean this should not happen at all, and I'm sure they are working hard to fix all this.


I agree as well. And have the same hopes and some more ;) .

-Andreas

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 12:49 #43379

  • Seanus
  • Seanus's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Sean Lander - Rednail Media
  • Posts: 940
  • Karma: 4
  • Thank you received: 76
Thanks Andreas. I'll give it a try but it's a 1 hour piece that's all being graded so we'll see what happens.

@Ronnie Yes clicking ALL shows nothing. It works from the browser but not the sequence.
Sean Lander - Editing since 1982 - AVID 1991 - FCP 1999 - FCPX 2011

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 25 Mar 2014 13:05 #43380

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4240
  • Karma: 196
  • Thank you received: 896
Well, that's another item I will have to add to my long list of 10.1 quirks. I hope our friends at Cupertino are working overtime these days ;)

-Ronny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media offline though it isn't. 20 Dec 2019 09:46 #103376

  • AlanSla
  • AlanSla's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
I know this is an old topic, but I came across this very issue myself this morning.
I soon realised that I had selected 'Proxy' under the 'Media' heading in the 'View' menu in the Viewer, selecting 'Optimised/Original' solved the issue.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1