fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 07 Oct 2019 23:16 #101883

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
I have no idea why, but all of my standard, Rec709 footage, which should be 0-100IRE now shows as -20 to 109 IR - Are there settings to change this?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 03:22 #101887

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Seems to only happen on Canon MJPEG codec footage.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 03:23 #101890

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
https://imgur.com/HELDiZO

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Matthew. Reason: image

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 05:58 #101892

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 693
Curious. What exactly are the specs of the media?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 11:56 #101900

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3007
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 402
My updated FCPX is showing the same range on the scale. But it is only the range markers, you're footage is still REC 709 and within its normal parameters. Only a GUI update, you're screenshot is not showing anything abnormal in the waveform itself, from what I see.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 14:54 #101905

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Thats not true. Shadows are clearly being crushed. Please see this image. Top is FCPX, bottom is what old FCPX used to show - imgur.com/a/EZ5QclU

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 21:46 #101917

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
does anyone no how to contact pro apps support? I've got ruined projects because of this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 08 Oct 2019 22:53 #101918

  • haysoos123
  • haysoos123's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 6
  • Thank you received: 70
You should be able to file a report in the normal way, in the menu Final Cut Pro->Provide Final Cut Pro Feedback. Please do so for bugs like this, the more reports the better.

I did notice that there was an update to Pro Apps support that went along with the 10.4.7 update, where they'll update support for codecs. Perhaps the bug was introduced with that. Are you running 10.4.7 with that update?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 09 Oct 2019 01:40 #101920

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Yea I was running 10 .4.7 and then I downgraded to 10.4.6. It now has the same issue with 10.4.6 so I’m guessing it’s a the pro video formats update. I’m really screwed if I can’t fix this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 12 Oct 2019 11:14 #102015

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 70

Matthew wrote: Yea I was running 10 .4.7 and then I downgraded to 10.4.6. It now has the same issue with 10.4.6 so I’m guessing it’s a the pro video formats update. I’m really screwed if I can’t fix this.


Just yesterday made a clean install of Catalina and then downloaded FCP 10.4.7. No additional content loaded yet, no pro video update run.

Yet, shockingly, I see the same issue. Ordinary XAVC (Sony, not Canon) in a 709 library/timeline.

Then I opened an old ("test"-) library and allowed it to be conformed. Relief: blacks weren't crushed, whites not clipped. But I do know for sure that the material was evenly stretched between 0 and 100 IRE, almost all clips. And this is how the 10.4.7 scopes read the clips:


We had a similar problem with 10.4.0 in December 2017, where the wheels and the board behaved weirdly in either 709 or 2020. It was then demonstrated by Simon Ubsdell in a video. But outright denied by the usual suspects. Until in April 2018 10.4.1 came out with a bugfix. No excuses from Apple.

I am also shocked to learn that going back to 10.4.6 didn't help. What are we supposed to do? Color correct by appearance without scopes in the meantime?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 12 Oct 2019 20:22 #102020

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
This is super frustrating. It seems like it may be a Catalina Issue Axel. You have the problem with Catalina and no pro video formats update, and I have another Mac running 10.4.7 and High Sierra with no problems.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 12 Oct 2019 20:24 #102021

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
Also Alex, my scopes show below 0 IRE, but the image ALSO crushes there as well. It's literally crushing the shadows. See the pics here Top is with the update. - imgur.com/a/EZ5QclU

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 12 Oct 2019 20:26 #102022

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3007
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 402
FYI, I'm having serious GUI issues all over FCPX and Motion.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 12 Oct 2019 21:03 #102024

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4309
  • Karma: 112
  • Thank you received: 693
Menus? There’s a problem with increase contrast and reduce transparency in Accessibility.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 13 Oct 2019 03:34 #102025

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 70

FCPX.guru wrote: FYI, I'm having serious GUI issues all over FCPX and Motion.


Can you give some examples?

For the time being, I am going to file a feedback/complaint. And I‘m not going back to High Sierra - too much hassle. Instead, I‘ll roundtrip with Resolve for color. Never been more easy and reliable.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 13 Oct 2019 16:10 #102031

  • Joris Vertenten
  • Joris Vertenten's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 22
  • Thank you received: 2
This?
Check @fcpxpert1 , he posted a solution for this [maybe] on twitter.
[for some reason I couldn't post a screenshot?]

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Joris Vertenten.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 13 Oct 2019 17:35 #102033

  • Axel
  • Axel's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 547
  • Karma: 10
  • Thank you received: 70
That would be this:


Looks different in Catalina. But it wasn't checked by default, unfortunately :(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New Update pushing footage into extended range IRE 22 Nov 2019 00:51 #102757

  • Matthew
  • Matthew's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Senior Boarder
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 0
I've spent over 2 hours on the phone with apple explains this. They wanted to create a partition on my computer remotely and do some testing. I asked why I can't just send them the footage (again) to test on their own machines. ;)

Really frustrating because now all of my reminders won't work on my machine unless I upgrade to Catalina, but the footage is trashed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1