Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Help with color

Help with color 02 Jul 2019 13:45 #100345

• Mathijs
  • Fresh Boarder
I'm currently working on a wedding video but I can't get a realistic look in this particular scene.
I have no idea how to fix it, hope you guys can help me out.

You can find the clips here: we.tl/t-bagK6ZEdFo
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Help with color 05 Jul 2019 12:10 #100376

• joema
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 266
That material is difficult. The exposure is well controlled and the bit rate high but there's a lot of noise on clip 1 and clip 2, and they all have an odd color cast.

I am not an expert colorist, but here are three before/after frame grabs of that material I graded using FCPX. The only plugin I used was Neat Video to control the noise on clip 1 and clip 2.

joema.smugmug.com/Photography/FCPX-Color...ction-Test/n-m6ZNvs/

For more info on color correction using FCPX, see various tutorials.

Excerpt from Larry Jordan "Color Correcting in FCPX using Scopes":

Ripple Training's color correction tutorial: www.rippletraining.com/products/final-cu...-final-cut-pro-10-4/

Color Grading Central: www.colorgradingcentral.com/final-cut-pr...ng-table-of-contents
Last Edit: 05 Jul 2019 12:15 by joema.

Help with color 05 Jul 2019 14:26 #100377

• Tom Wolsky
  • Thank you received: 686
The original looks as if they need LUTs.

Help with color 05 Jul 2019 15:49 #100378

• VTCmedia
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 7
Only thing done here is color balance each clip (Command+option+"B") and adjust the exposure levels. Lowering the shadows a smidgeon and raising the highlights will get you better contrast that your shots are lacking. Whatever mood or look you're after is all downstream from there. Boosting saturation should also be an option but that's the last thing I'd do to make it 'realistic' before handing it over and asking for final payment.

SS11.jpg