fbpx
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1

TOPIC: Custom Command Sets vs FCPX Updates

Custom Command Sets vs FCPX Updates 20 Nov 2018 15:47 #97827

  • dmb
  • dmb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 4
As most of you probably know, new keyboard shortcuts introduced in a FCPX update do not appear in Custom Command Sets. I'd appreciate hearing how you deal with this. I have only thought of two approaches: keep a list of all the custom keyboard shortcuts I have created, which I use to re-create them each time FCPX updates. Or, enter the new default shortcuts into my Custom Command Sets - but that begs the question as to which new keyboard shortcuts are introduced with each update.

There is a third option, which is to ignore the issue and assume that if I want a keyboard shortcut for a particular function, I will establish one myself and can simply ignore any new defaults. But that is unsatisfying, for a number of reasons.

I'm hoping someone has come up with an easier way.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Custom Command Sets vs FCPX Updates 21 Nov 2018 18:11 #97899

  • VidGreg
  • VidGreg's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 936
  • Karma: 28
  • Thank you received: 186

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Custom Command Sets vs FCPX Updates 23 Nov 2018 17:47 #97929

  • dmb
  • dmb's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 4
Thanks, Greg. Unfortunately, the procedures described in the article don’t solve the problem.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Custom Command Sets vs FCPX Updates 23 Nov 2018 21:21 #97935

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 3004
  • Karma: 34
  • Thank you received: 402
Well, it is unfortunately the solution to your problem. You make backup copies of your custom Command and Layout sets, for when you upgrade.

Seem a couple or few versions back FCPX stopped deleting custom sets, but this update does it again. Very disappointing. So yes, you need to back them up, then reinstall them after upgrading. That is in fact the solution for now.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Page:
  • 1