Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Broadcast quality, not quite there....?

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 13:24 #42815

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Looking for some advice from the powers that be! I have been editing for web based stuff for years and had a client that wanted me to do a TV commercial. After upload to HD TV, ABC Network it looked ok, but not what I wanted. I will explain my workflow and please tell me what I should do different...

Sent spot in H264, 59.94fps, 1280x720 as requested by network. Shot the footage in 29.97 1080p, converted with Mpeg Streamclip

-After I saw the spot on HD TV the color was off which I can change, needed to lower the saturation. I am editing on a Macbook Pro (new Mac Cylinder shape computer with thunderbolt monitor on order). Do I need an external such as a TV, to edit on so that I can see the outcome as it will be on TV?? What is my mode of operation here?

-Next, there is a curb going up a road from bottom left to top right of the screen, so the curb is diagonal, but there is very tiny lines that run horizontal (left to right) on the curb..? Wondering if that is a "deinterlacing" problem? Will it fix this if I choose the deiinterlace function on Mpeg Streamclip?

-This sort of pertains to the above question. My graphics, letters, where the "S" is in the words on screen they look kind of like the curb I described above? In other words if it is not vertical or horizontal line it appears to be broken on TV.

As a side note EVERYTHING looks perfect on the web version! Not bad on TV, but not perfect... Please advise?? Thanks in advance
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 16:25 #42825

Can you provide a screenshot of what you are seeing? If you shot 1080p and downsizing to 720p then interlacing should not be an issue since there's no such thing as interlaced 720.

Are you working in a progressive timeline?

What did you use to encode the h264? Compressor?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 17:15 #42829

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
As I said this is what I am seeing on the actual TV so I had to capture a pic with a camera (not the best shot, LOL)... but I think if you look at the curb on the road you will see what I am talking about.

I am working in a progressive timeline.

I encoded from a Canon C100 (AVCHD) with ClipWrap (prores 422) then into FCPX, out to a master file of 1080 (H264 I believe) then to Mpeg streamclip with the setting in the below pic. Minus the multi pass, it always seems to pixelate everything. I am having same results from a Canon C300 which goes straight into FCPX from the camera with new plugin. It is not AVCHD.
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 17:17 #42830

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
File did not insert, here it is.
Last Edit: 17 Mar 2014 17:20 by sgodfrey01. Reason: file upload
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 17:22 #42831

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Not sure if the screen shot is showing up?? Let me know if it did not, will try to figure it out. thx
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 18:24 #42834

  • tpayton
  • tpayton's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 949
  • Thank you received: 135
  • Karma: 25
A few observations:

Every TV, and I mean every TV is different. Hence you want to have a broadcast monitor output solution (AJA, Matrox, Blackmagic) that is displaying on a calibrated REC 709 display. (Matrox allows you to get a HDMI display someone close), and that will give you a reference of what should be what TVs are at judged against. This is no guarantee that a TV will not display your spot in some weird way (such as dynamic contrast or the blues up all the way or with interpolated frames as part of the the horrible 120hz trend), but that it will look like the other spots and shows that the viewer is watching.

If you don't have access to this type of broadcast monitoring (and frankly even if you do) then find a reference image that you know performs well across multiple monitors, (i.e. a scenes from a movie or TV show that you are familiar with and have watched on your computer and say a home flat screen, iPhone, etc. that you has a remotely similar contrast and color look to what you are after.) and then adjusting your image to match the general targets such as skin tone, black levels, white levels, etc. and frankly looks decent. Then you will get an image that should perform very well out in the wild west of broadcast TV land where nothing is ever the same twice.

Is this an ABC local affiliate, or ABC Network that wanted a 720p file? I've never actually delivered a 720 file but I haven't sent anything to ABC specifically. Typically my specs are a 1080i, 29.97 ProRes 422 file. I export right out of FCPX.

Do I hear you correctly that you exported your final spot as 1080 from FCPX and then exported that from MPEG stream clip as your final output? (from my experience this doesn't seem like a good idea.) From what I see in MPEG Streamclip you specified a interlaced file as input, and therefore it would deinterlace first and then scale. (I could be wrong.) Much better to paced your spot in a compound clip and then on a 720p timeline in FCPX and then export right from FCPX (or you could use compressor, but you don't need to.)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 20:16 #42850

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
That is what I did, I have a master and then converted it to a 720P to send to the local ABC affiliate in Atlanta. That is what they requested.

This is what I am seeing if I can get this to take the pic upload...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 20:18 #42851

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Here is what I am seeing if you can see it here (it's a camera shot of the TV, LOL):

the wave form look is not the problem, that is a camera/TV problem, the white dashes

on the curb is a problem.
Last Edit: 17 Mar 2014 20:37 by sgodfrey01.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 20:42 #42854

  • sgodfrey01
  • sgodfrey01's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
One last try to show you the pic, made it real small this time!
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Broadcast quality, not quite there....? 17 Mar 2014 20:52 #42855

  • tpayton
  • tpayton's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 949
  • Thank you received: 135
  • Karma: 25
Yes, that is MPEG Streamclip doing that. Can you take a screen capture of that same frame from the file you sent on your Mac and post that also. You should see exactly the same thing.

Try an export at 720p from FCPX. You'll see a better image.
The administrator has disabled public write access.