Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: the basics

the basics 17 Sep 2019 12:29 #101478

  • owenpga
  • owenpga's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
Hello,
I've created some things in motion in the past and imported them into final cut timeline however I'm not sure I'm actually doing this in the most efficient /correct manner.
If you look at the link below around 1:00 min marker you will see motion overlays in the video.

My question is what are the correct steps in creating this type of video.

1. Do I select " motion project" or "final cut effect" at the beginning?
2. Do I edit the entire video/audio and then import into motion and create the overlays?
3. Or do I create the motion overlays and then import into FC timeline?

The idea would be to be able to reuse some of the motion animations for similar golf swing tutorials. Some of the animations needs to be custom to match up the swing motion etc.

Any thoughts would be great.

The administrator has disabled public write access.

the basics 17 Sep 2019 22:59 #101484

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2766
  • Thank you received: 365
  • Karma: 34
I'll just run through the process real quick. You may know this, but...

Open a new Motion project.
Select what you're making. Is it a Title, a special effect, a transition, or a generator. If that confuses you, I highly recommend Ripple Training or macProVideo to learn the basics very quickly.

Then, once your new project is open, you'll build it, then Save it.
When you Save, give it a Name that will tell you what it is, and Catagory. Since it's your own stuff, I'd make a Catagory with my own name. That's what I did.

Leave Theme at none, and the two checkboxes empty, and click Publish. Quit Motion.

Launch and then go into FCPX, you'll go to the appropriate Browser (Effects, Transitions, Titles / Generators), go to the Catagory you made, and all your Templates will live there, ready to be used forever, faithful, loyal.
Last Edit: 17 Sep 2019 23:30 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

the basics 18 Sep 2019 10:51 #101493

  • owenpga
  • owenpga's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I know those steps. I'm trying to figure out, for example :
In the attached image, How do I get the animation overlay to fit perfectly with the video?
I'm assuming I bring the video into motion and create the animation so the line for the "call out" matches the golf shaft and the arrow matches up with the top part of the golf grip etc.

Question.

1. Do I create a single animation IE "call out" over the video and then delete the video layer and save animation?
2. When I bring in the video at 1080 I always have to drag the corners to make it fit in the motion window. I'm not sure when I create the animation over that video if it will then match the video when i bring it into FC.
3. Let me know if I should be going about this in a different way.

I hope this makes sense.
Thanks
The administrator has disabled public write access.

the basics 18 Sep 2019 17:59 #101498

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2766
  • Thank you received: 365
  • Karma: 34
You could do it in Motion, or you could reposition the Call-Out around, and scale it in the FCPX timeline.

In your Viewer, set it to "Fit" or Shift-Z. You don't resize the video like that.

Or I'm not understanding something.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

the basics 20 Sep 2019 12:08 #101530

  • owenpga
  • owenpga's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: 0
Thank you. While I have your attention , as i play around with this, it seems more efficient to add the animation to the video while its in the motion app. I may have 5 - 10 animations to do per video and i t seems a bit tedious to have to create one and then export into fcp and add to timeline??
Also, since many of these animations can be used again with slight edits (text for example), is there a way to reuse them?
My first thought would be to delete the video portion of the saved motion file and add in the new video and just add in the animations from the layers list as needed. Would that be a correct way of approaching this?
thanks for your time. Owen
The administrator has disabled public write access.