Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only!

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 14 Nov 2019 22:27 #102655

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
FCPX 10.3.4
OS Sierra 10.12.6'iMac late 2014, 27" i7, 32GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon R9 M295X
Thunderbolt connected external HD

Re:
www.fcp.co/forum/simulated-effects/30278...s-vhs-noise-etc-free

This plugin installs ok-
It comes up in the effects browser -
but when loaded the effect produces our friend the red background and yellow exclamation mark. See attached.
The effect parameters also do not load.
This happens with at least one other similar effect.

See 2nd attached image - adding the .moef extension as illustrated and restarting makes no difference.

The developer tells me that others have had this problem also, but doesn't have a fix.
It's not specific to this plugin. It also happens with a couple of others I have tried
which have scan lines settings - which is really what I need, as most VHS plugins are pretty
lame and don't give you that proper interlaced horizontal lines sort of effect.

Any ideas?
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 15 Nov 2019 07:59 #102658

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 811
  • Thank you received: 73
  • Karma: -1
I am the maker of one of the effects he has tried. I had one other person with this same issue. In both cases the effect itself oddly lacked the .moef extension. Adding it accomplished nothing. The effect works for everyone else so I'm at a loss as to what can cause this. I'd really like to know.

I had a thought JUST NOW. Can you add .localized to your Motion Templates folder? So that it reads Motion Templates.localized ? Same with your EFFECTS folder. That .localized part may disappear after you add it and select a different folder, that's normal. Then start up FCP and see if the effect works properly.
Last Edit: 15 Nov 2019 08:01 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 22 Nov 2019 03:17 #102759

  • Bernard Black
  • Bernard Black's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 29
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 0
My guess is that you're trying to load an effect in FCPX 10.3.4 that was created with a version of Motion that's much newer than that.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 25 Nov 2019 20:23 #102812

  • Bernard Black
  • Bernard Black's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 29
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 0
Confirmed that the project downloaded from Redifer's YouTube link was created in Motion 5.4.3. That's too new of a project/effect to load into your version of FCP.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 25 Nov 2019 20:32 #102817

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 811
  • Thank you received: 73
  • Karma: -1
Good to know. Just out of curiosity how far back in FCP versions would that effect be compatible with? Hopefuly not just the version is was created with. I would assume it would be compatible with all flavors of 10.4 and not just 10.4.6 and newer, for example.
Last Edit: 25 Nov 2019 20:33 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Plugins Failing under 10.3.4 (VHS / scanlines effects) Exclamation Mark Only! 26 Nov 2019 04:11 #102830

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 0
Ah! Ok, time for me to try again w 10.4.
I stuck with my current version after a failed upgrade attempt last year - none of my prev libraries would load under 10.4. I've since done some consolidation and cleaning up, so worth a try!
The administrator has disabled public write access.