Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Audio sync workflow advice please

Audio sync workflow advice please 18 Aug 2019 06:22 #100956

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Apologies if this is another dummy question. Perhaps you can point me to a tutorial rather than waste your time describing the answer, but here is my question:

I am editing a short movie and have been handed a ton of clips and audio files. Clearly I am not going to use all the takes. So I do my edit, which includes various segments from some of the clips.

After the director has approved the edit, I now need to match the externally recorded audio sections to the used video clips. I go to the first clip on the timeline and press Shift+F to find the video file. It is marked with the slate and I locate the audio file for this. I then create a Synchronised clip, which has a new name xxxx- Synchronized Clip.

HOW do I replace the "unsynchronised" clip in the timeline project with the exact same part of the Synchronised clip??? Or am I doing something really the wrong way around?

Thanks for your advice...
Last Edit: 18 Aug 2019 07:53 by pszilard.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 18 Aug 2019 07:59 #100958

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Here is what I am thinking - tell me if it is right:

The problem with synchronising after cutting is that the video FILE_1 now becomes "FILE_1 Synchronized" and therefore looses the edit points.

So instead, I Open the video file in the timeline, find the clap and mark it. I locate the matching sound file and mark the clap, then drag the sound into the video file which is open on the timeline. After confirming to FCP that I want to edit the video source, I adjust to line up the sound file marker with the video marker, then turn off the camera sound and VOILA I now have the original video file but with external sound, and therefore every edit in the movie will get the good sound!

As I have only about 10 video files in use, I don't have to fix the other 90 unused files!

What do you guys think? (Seems to be working) UPDATE: DOES NOT WORK - I WAS MISTAKEN, - Paul
Last Edit: 23 Aug 2019 08:19 by pszilard.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 18 Aug 2019 08:38 #100959

  • cofe
  • cofe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 101
  • Thank you received: 16
  • Karma: 2
First advice if I may: Whatever works is the right solution :-)
Of course it's better to sync before you edit, but if you didn't, it makes total sense to solve the problem the way you did.

An alternative would be to sync your selected clips. Then you turn on the TC display to see the TC of the original clips in your project timeline. Mark the first clip that you need to replace, load the corresponding synced version, mark the in on that clip matching the TC to the clip that is in the timeline, and then replace overwrite, option-r, your clip in the timeline with the sync one.

Best, Carsten
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 18 Aug 2019 17:04 #100961

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2824
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
I'm handed video with separate audio daily (personally I route all mics to my cameras, saves tons of time), and I create Sync Clips right off the bat before even creating a Timeline. I don't understand why you're spending so much time working what I consider a backward workflow. Am I missing something?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 18 Aug 2019 22:26 #100965

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
No, you are not missing something. It is me who was missing something, namely understanding best practice, because until recently I hadn't much experience in editing complex projects and usually I had good sound on camera. So just my learning curve.

If I am involved with the shoot, then I usually send a good mix from the audio recorder to the camera, but this time I am only doing the edit.

It is good to keep learning, and I am painfully aware of my lack of knowledge in many areas, but hey, the only way to learn to to keep asking questions and then doing the stuff.

I am grateful for all the amazing help I get around here. Thanks guys...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 19 Aug 2019 01:02 #100969

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Another quick question:

Is there a setting to give FCPX more cpu/gpu resources? I am using an iMac PRO with 64GB ram and 8 cores of Xeon but try as I might, I can't get FCPX to use more than about 40% when rendering. Ram is only 50% used, so no issues with swapping, but I would really like to apply more horse power to speed things up.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 19 Aug 2019 12:08 #100973

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2824
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
That's not now GPUs and CPUs work. They can only do so much work for an app at one time, based on the sort of maths involved, the order of things needing to be done, etc. Apple is really good at getting all the resources they can out of their own stuff. Example, you can only type a complex math equation into a calculator so fast. Each step of the operation has to complete before you do the next. Can't do every step at one time.

Back to Sync Clips; I take all the media that needs to be in Sync or Multicam clips, and I assign keywords to organize them. That way I am no selecting a video clip in one place, then having to scroll forever to the audio clip to select it. I place the resulting Multicams and Syncs into those same keyword collections, also. I'll go a step further and create a Folder for all of those keyword collections. When it comes time to edit, I only deal with sync and multicam, not the original clips.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 19 Aug 2019 15:12 #100982

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1266
  • Thank you received: 263
  • Karma: 22
pszilard wrote:
...After the director has approved the edit, I now need to match the externally recorded audio sections to the used video clips...HOW do I replace the "unsynchronised" clip in the timeline project with the exact same part of the Synchronised clip??? Or am I doing something really the wrong way around?...

This is a common issue when dealing with multicam or external audio. The answer is you never ever use parent clips, non-synchronized, non-multicam clips in the timeline. The proper workflow is:

(1) Offload all files into folders named by camera or camera+operator or something unique. The enables segregation of clips from cameras with similar filenames and codec.

(2) If necessary rename all clips so they are globally unique. This avoids a problem with XML import creating spurious duplicates. It is also good practice so each clip has a unique name. One way is append a unique incrementing 5-digit serial number.

(3) Import using "keywords: from folders" preference. This keywords all clips from each camera to facilitate labeling them in preparation for multicam sync.

(4) In FCPX click on each camera/recorder keyword, select all filtered clips with CMD+A, then in Inspector assign those a unique camera or angle name. Without this a multicam sync may not work right.

(4a) If the camera and recorder clocks were not properly set the clips from each multicam take will not sort adjacently. Before doing further work, in FCPX batch update the date/time metadata of all clips from each incorrect camera to the correct value. This is via Modify>Adjust Content Created Date and Time.

(5) Sync the multicam or sync clips. Note for single camera with external audio you may want to use a multicam clip. See Sam Mestman's writings on this.

(6) All subsequent work with sync or multicam clips should only use those, NOT the parent clips from which they were made. To avoid accidentally using the parent clips you can reject those and always run the Browser with "Hide Rejected". Otherwise you can accidentally end up with parent clips in the timeline, which is the problem you are now facing.

If parent clips and audio are used in the timeline and major editing time is expended, it is possible to preserve all those edits and frame-match each timeline clip with a synced multicam or sync clip. However it is very laborious. The exact procedure is listed below.

www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...-equivalent-multicam
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 21 Aug 2019 13:24 #101001

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
What I thought had worked the other day, doesn't work today. Here is simplified example:

1) Original clip is 2 minutes long
2) Create a project and pick 2 different 10 sec segments and insert them into project
3) Now go bak and Open Clip of the original and do something drastic, like desaturate colour to 0 (black and white)
4) Now go back to the timeline - inserted segments did NOT change! WHY??? I was expecting them to become black and white

How come the inserted segments don't inherit any changes made to the source clip?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 21 Aug 2019 13:39 #101002

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2824
  • Thank you received: 372
  • Karma: 34
Regular clips do not have a Parent/child relationship like Multicams and Compounds do. When you place a regular clip into the Timelne, that is an independent copy.

If you place it inside of a Compound Clip by itself, you can do what you are trying to do.
Last Edit: 21 Aug 2019 13:40 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 21 Aug 2019 22:01 #101013

  • pszilard
  • pszilard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 197
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
I'm going to cry now...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio sync workflow advice please 22 Aug 2019 04:46 #101016

  • arc
  • arc's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 86
  • Thank you received: 11
  • Karma: 1
FCPX.guru wrote:
That's not now GPUs and CPUs work. They can only do so much work for an app at one time, based on the sort of maths involved, the order of things needing to be done, etc. Apple is really good at getting all the resources they can out of their own stuff. Example, you can only type a complex math equation into a calculator so fast. Each step of the operation has to complete before you do the next. Can't do every step at one time.

Different codecs will work the the CPU and GPU differently for playback and rendering. If you are using five or six picture and pictures with CC and motion blur your CPU and GPU might hit 100% usage during rendering and playback. Having said that the video links below might be of some interest.







The administrator has disabled public write access.