Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 11 Jul 2019 17:58 #100415

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 463
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
I've been having a problem with imported clips from my C100. The clips play back fine on the card in my camera, but when I import them into FCPX, some of them have glitches and color shifts - it almost looks like a crease on an old videotape. I've used the same cards in my GH5S and have encountered no problems. I sent my C100 off to Canon and they haven't been able to duplicate the problem.

Has anyone run into something like this? Any suggestions? thx!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 12 Jul 2019 06:55 #100417

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 786
  • Thank you received: 70
  • Karma: -2
Can you post a picture of what you mean by "glitches and color shifts"?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 12 Jul 2019 14:03 #100422

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 463
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Sure 0- here are three.
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 12 Jul 2019 15:16 #100423

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2684
  • Thank you received: 350
  • Karma: 33
I worked with a ton of footage from C-100 cameras a couple of years ago. I hated it. Converted everything to ProRes 422 and all my issues went away. That's just playback issues I believe. Hardware specs?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 12 Jul 2019 23:23 #100428

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 786
  • Thank you received: 70
  • Karma: -2
Looks like the data is somewhat corrupted, but maybe the error-correction is good enough for the camera to fix it, but not FCP? Just a guess. I would do as Ben suggested and convert to ProRes before importing to see if that helps. I have a C100 but I have never recorded to the internal SD card, I have always used an external Atomos recorder.
Last Edit: 12 Jul 2019 23:24 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 14 Jul 2019 17:05 #100434

  • VTCmedia
  • VTCmedia's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 1
Data corruption. I've come across this problem before using files from another photographers shoot. Files transfer fine and the checksums are copacetic and all but the blocking and streaking were there despite playing fine in the camera.

My solution was to record ProRes files played out of the other guys camera into an external Atomos. Not only did that work it was faster than transferring the files and then re-encoding to ProRes, after which I'd have to stringently scan the transcoded video files to be certain they were 'clean'. which meant more time wasted.

Sometimes you don't have the time luxury needed to troubleshoot or noodle through all the 'why fors' of a problem but to come up with a workaround.

Customer came to me with a problem that he watched the night takes of video in his Sony camera but he could only find / transfer the ones discovered on his card. Turns out some where along the shoot the switch was made, erroneously, to record in AVCHD. The MTS files were buried inside the container but to transcode those 36 files would take longer than the 21:23 of capturing them in ProRes via the method described above.
Last Edit: 14 Jul 2019 18:03 by VTCmedia.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 15 Jul 2019 11:56 #100440

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2684
  • Thank you received: 350
  • Karma: 33
Again, I did a very large reality TV show production where they used C-100 cameras, and that producer will never use those cameras again, because of the AVCHD container Canon uses is such a PITA to work with.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 16 Jul 2019 12:43 #100449

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1169
  • Thank you received: 242
  • Karma: 21
parkerhqj wrote:
I've been having a problem with imported clips from my C100. The clips play back fine on the card in my camera, but when I import them into FCPX, some of them have glitches and color shifts - it almost looks like a crease on an old videotape. I've used the same cards in my GH5S and have encountered no problems. I sent my C100 off to Canon and they haven't been able to duplicate the problem....

AVCHD isn't the greatest format, but lots of people use it on FCPX without these problems.

Were these imported from the AVCHD package, or were the files copied out of the package and imported? AVCHD files should always be imported from the package or else re-wrapped with EditReady before importing.

I suggest using EditReady and setting it for re-wrap (not transcode) which is very fast. Then you can play the files in Finder or import to FCPX using "leave files in place". This might also help diagnose the cause of the data corruption.

www.divergentmedia.com/editready

It might also be an incompatibility with the card or card reader. Maybe it's possible to import via USB from the cards inside the camera. That C100 only has a USB 2.0 port, so this would be slow but if it works it would bypass any possible card/reader issue. It might require using Canon's own import utility that comes with the C100.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 16 Jul 2019 12:53 #100450

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 463
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Thanks for all these answers. Will definitely look into Edit Ready. Tempted to get an Atomos but Edit Ready sounds like a cheaper solution. What I don't get is why this problem has taken so long to emerge. I've been using the C100 for years without any of this. Maybe it's an aging thing (the camera, not me!) . It's now my second camera and I only use it once in a while so I don't want to invest too much in it at this point. thx!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 16 Jul 2019 13:16 #100451

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1169
  • Thank you received: 242
  • Karma: 21
parkerhqj wrote:
Thanks for all these answers. Will definitely look into Edit Ready. Tempted to get an Atomos but Edit Ready sounds like a cheaper solution. What I don't get is why this problem has taken so long to emerge. I've been using the C100 for years without any of this. Maybe it's an aging thing (the camera, not me!) . It's now my second camera and I only use it once in a while so I don't want to invest too much in it at this point. thx!

There are two separate issues (1) How to fix the current clips (2) How to avoid it in the future.

To fix or understand the current problem, you could try re-wrapping those files with EditReady. But if the files were already damaged during offload, that might not help. If you are using a different SD reader or a reader attached to a hub, maybe that is the reason. Can you try a different reader or insert the card straight into an iMac or 2015 or earlier MacBook Pro?

Once the problem happens, is it consistent on the same clips? IOW do the same clips show the same problem each playback attempt? Or is it random on different clips or different places on the same clip? If it is media data corruption it should be very consistent. If it is random it could be an SD problem, SD reader problem, cable problem, etc.

You could try using FCPX to first create a camera archive from the card, then import from there: support.apple.com/kb/PH12710?locale=en_US

Re avoiding it in the future, I agree recording to an external Atomos (eg a Ninja V) might be a good choice. It is small, has an excellent monitor with good shooting aids, and offloading from the SATA SSDs or AtomX cards is super fast -- about 500 MB/sec. ProRes is very fast to edit. You can use it on any camera with HDMI out, so after your old C100 is gone you can use it on other cameras.

However ProRes increases your data volume by about 6x, so for long-form material (long lectures, theater plays, etc) it might not be the best choice. SD cards should work OK, but they can go bad or become intermittent. Try a new or different batch of SD cards, esp authentic brand-name cards like SanDisk.

The best practice for SD cards or other media is fully reformat them before next use, do not delete files from them (whether using in-camera clip delete or via Finder). If files are deleted, under some conditions data fragmentation might cause problems that appear as dropped frames or other image issues. Use in-camera card reformat, not on a computer.
Last Edit: 16 Jul 2019 13:18 by joema.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

weird clip playback issues from C100 into FCPX 16 Jul 2019 13:44 #100452

  • parkerhqj
  • parkerhqj's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 463
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Looks like Edit Ready did the trick. I'll see how this method holds up. I may wind up getting an Atomos Ninja, but I'll have to think about the file sizes. I'm using the C100 as a vlogging camera and my takes are about two minutes which is manageable. But I also shoot tons of long interviews and I use my GH5S for those.

Thanks for these thoughtful responses. They're very helpful.
The administrator has disabled public write access.