Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Audio Configuration mono-stereo

Audio Configuration mono-stereo 27 Apr 2019 08:38 #99823

  • petersxs
  • petersxs's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 52
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 1
because it happend again.. fop X got it wrong

I work on long form theater & music programs , recorded on Blackmagic Studiorecorders SSD. We embed multitrack audio (iso Mics, music etc). on the 16 channels . So some are mono and some are stereo. In FCP X I can only choose 16 Mono or 8 Stereo. which is not good . There is the automatic "Analyse " function which CAN result in ( for example ) 3 Mono 4 Stereo and very often this works and I use it . BUT ! als very often FCP gets it wrong, tags Stereo Files as Mono. Sometimes even combines 2 different mono mics as STEREO! ( especially in Audience Mix)
What to do now ??
What i reale don't understand is that FCP X has a feature that is only Automatic and there is now way to correct this ?
I love the way FCPX works with multichannel Audio in MUltocam but I hate it when I can't define what is mono and what ist stereo !! it can be done . but not by me ?? wtf ?

So what is the alternative ? does anyone also have this problem ?

I tried QT Player 7 and QT change to edit the header information , but there seems to be a special way embedded Audio is seen. There are 16 Channels but all on A1. so this works only for the first 2 Channels.

the only way I found which is quite time consuming , ist good old FCP7 on my old Mac Pro. there I can import the file , define what is mono & link Stereo ; define the Output and render out a new Multichannel Quicktime.. this is then correctly recognised by FCP X .
but as I said time consuming on long recording.

Anyone found a solution to this ? any software to prep the file ? Logic Btw is no solution, another bug .. on import Logic says. " File size get too big for wav .. switched to caf" . but then NOTHING happens . no import , nothing . yes apple got lazy . sad about this. I have been writing to apple sand give feedback many times now.

anyone else having this issue ? or good contact to Apple ? ;)
thx peter
Last Edit: 27 Apr 2019 08:40 by petersxs.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio Configuration mono-stereo 27 Apr 2019 22:26 #99827

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 798
  • Thank you received: 73
  • Karma: -2
There's not a way to just tell it what you want and where? I wonder why. I mean you could choose 16 mono, pan each the way you want them and then Compound Clip the stereo ones after you've separated it all from the video clips.

Or re-import and let FCP guess again. It'll get it right one of these times!
Last Edit: 27 Apr 2019 22:27 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Audio Configuration mono-stereo 29 Apr 2019 08:31 #99840

  • petersxs
  • petersxs's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 52
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 1
HI Redifer

Yes i wonder why too, its not a matter of Function, FCPX Automatic does it, ( just wrong) its just that the UI that does not let you select 2 Audio channel and click "make Stereo" , or " Link" , or whatever , i wonder why too ...
the 16 mono way is not really an option my workflow,. . every adjustment, double for stereo . . no way , and as i do mosty live programm , i dont detach audio. stereo should be stereo .

and no, it doesn't get it right after guessing again , tried that a few times ;)
The administrator has disabled public write access.