Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 17 Apr 2019 03:11 #99672

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: 0
Yep, you read correctly...
I'm not a fan of faux VHS effects and want to record FROM my iMac TO VHS for the real deal, and then transfer back to my mac.
Can I do this using my ADVC100?
Or do I need to take the additional step of outputting from FCPX to VOB > play the video through DVD player and capture direct to VHS that way?

My rig is basically: VHS machine(s) > Panasonic ES10 (very cheap but very, very effective for tolerance of timebase correction) > ADVC100 via thunderbolt to firewire > iMac / FCPX .

Low budget gear but I must say it has served me very well for transfers and I have found that little ADVC does a nicer transfer job than a lot of official commercial / "professional" VHS digitizations I have acquired over the years. Even if the bloody thing has a mind of its own when I start up FCPX and need to unplug and replug it in up to 30 times before FCPX recognises incoming video....
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 17 Apr 2019 11:12 #99683

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2539
  • Thank you received: 330
  • Karma: 32
You won't use FCPX for that. QuickTime player is best for recording from the VHS tape. Not sure FCPX will recognize an old can-o-pus (very old joke) rig. Yeah, getting it out to the tape is the trick, not sure what on a modern Mac will recognize the rig. FCPX might, Quicktime player might. That's a lot of work for an effect. And will people even recognize it?

MANY audio and visual effects are more recognizable with exaggerated and slightly non-organic methods than a literal effect. Because people don't respond to things that away. The general "memory" of what VHS looks like isn't literal, few memories are. So I'm not sure the effort will be worth it. Try it, share the results with us, let us see what you come up with.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 17 Apr 2019 23:34 #99693

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1855
  • Thank you received: 215
  • Karma: 30
We have both a Canopus ADVC 300 and ADVC 500 and FCPX recognizes them fine direct thru Firewire. The ADVC 110 would likely work as well. If there is an issue, it would likely be with the thunderbolt to firewire adapter as those can be finicky. But as for the hassle to produce that effect via media conversion, it would be much easier to use one of the many VHS plugin effects to get the look you are after.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 18 Apr 2019 02:04 #99694

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: 0
er.... thanks?
What odd responses! One says FCPX might not recognise my ADVC... and that I should use QT.... when I literally posted a description of my ***actual working rig which includes an ADVC***...and I clearly said that it does work... straaaaannnnggeee but ookkkaaayyyy

... not to mention being advised that I should fake it rather than actually running to VHS.
That's not what I asked about, but oookkkkaaaayyyy.

So maybe... can we talk about my question now? B)

The more I think about it though, it really is not a huge ask for me to just burn a DVD and record that. Perhaps I'm just being lazy. So yeah, will try that and will post the results...

Peace!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 18 Apr 2019 03:30 #99698

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1855
  • Thank you received: 215
  • Karma: 30
Never advised...only suggested.
Direct answers:
Can I do this using my ADVC100? YES
Or do I need to take the additional step of outputting from FCPX to VOB > play the video through DVD player and capture direct to VHS that way? NO

Hopefully this response is not odd !
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 18 Apr 2019 04:13 #99699

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: 0
dgwvideo wrote:
Never advised...only suggested.
Direct answers:
Can I do this using my ADVC100? YES
Or do I need to take the additional step of outputting from FCPX to VOB > play the video through DVD player and capture direct to VHS that way? NO

That's good news - dumb question but how do you do this?
I'm well familiar with how to tell FCPX to import FROM the Canopus but not the other way around...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 18 Apr 2019 14:07 #99710

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1855
  • Thank you received: 215
  • Karma: 30
You would use FCPX AV Output feature to send your timeline playback through HDMI. Then, using any number of devices (DVD Recorder with HDMI Input OR HDMI-AV Converter OR simple HDMI to AV cable like this one www.amazon.com/Cable-Seotic-Adapter-Tran...s=electronics&sr=1-8 ) you connect analog signals to your ADVC unit.

UPDATE - after looking closer at that cable in the link, it appears that the signal on the analog pins may not work with the maximum resolution of the ADVC so the HDMI AV converter would be the best option.

FCPX will not allow simultaneous playback and import, so once your timeline is delivered to your device and recorded by your deck, you'll need to import that back to FCPX the usual way you do with the ADVC.

The ADVC unit in the above scenario is optional as you could just use the cable to get an analog signal from your timeline.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
Last Edit: 18 Apr 2019 14:15 by dgwvideo.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 18 Apr 2019 23:30 #99719

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 765
  • Thank you received: 68
  • Karma: -1
FInal Cut won't capture from the Canopus will it? Final Cut REQUIRES timecode from the tape for some odd reason. It won't capture from similar MiniDV-to-Firewire boxes or even my MiniDV deck unless it's actually playing a tape. It MUST have that timecode. Dunno why, but it does. Anyway, if you can, make a few generations of VHS-to-VHS transfers to exaggerate the effect. But then it may be hard to recapture because all of the time base errors. Good luck!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 19 Apr 2019 00:30 #99720

  • tj7
  • tj7's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: 0
Thanks @dgwvideo!
Right, so if more cables etc needed, I think just easier to just burn to DVD first...
Interesting that the ADVC can talk TO FCPX and easily enough capture, but not the other way around using the same chain?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 20 Apr 2019 04:08 #99740

  • arc
  • arc's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
A Thunderbolt to Fire Wire adapter will work just fine. FCPX can capture video from the Canopus ADVC 110 but as far as I know it will not playback the video to a VTR. I could be wrong but I don't see the option to use the ADVC 110 as an A/V output.




If you have an old or new version of Premiere Pro that will playback to a VTR using the ADVC 110. You could use the 30 day free trial without buying it.



Having said that the Intensity Shuttle will work just fine with FCPX if you are playing back standard definition video to a VHS deck. FCPX does not work that great with the Intensity Shuttle for HD.



If you are wondering why I am not suggesting you use the Intensity Shuttle to capture VHS it is because the Intensity Shuttle needs a TBC in order to capture VHS tapes. Your VCR may have a built in TBC.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 20 Apr 2019 07:03 #99743

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 765
  • Thank you received: 68
  • Karma: -1
For some strange and incomprehensible reason the Intensity and all Black Magic products to my knowledge are EXTREMELY rigid in their frame rates. If a fly sneezes 3 rooms down the hall, the Black Magic device will lose sync. Have something that runs at 59.95Hz instead of 59.94? "SCREW YOU" says Blackmagic. They do not build those things well at all, as plenty of other devices can roll with the changes just fine. They should work fine for outputting however, and that is a good idea.

A VCR's built-in TBC will not be good enough for a Black Magic device. Not by a long shot.
Last Edit: 20 Apr 2019 07:05 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Query: Outputting FROM iMac TO VHS via Canopus ADVC100 20 Apr 2019 07:54 #99744

  • arc
  • arc's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 9
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Redifer wrote:
For some strange and incomprehensible reason the Intensity and all Black Magic products to my knowledge are EXTREMELY rigid in their frame rates. If a fly sneezes 3 rooms down the hall, the Black Magic device will lose sync. Have something that runs at 59.95Hz instead of 59.94? "SCREW YOU" says Blackmagic. They do not build those things well at all, as plenty of other devices can roll with the changes just fine. They should work fine for outputting however, and that is a good idea.

A VCR's built-in TBC will not be good enough for a Black Magic device. Not by a long shot.

I agree. The BMD products can very picky but they can record VHS tapes if they have a good clean broadcast compliant signal. Having said that the Intensity Shuttle works with FCPX for playback of SD but the HD playback does not play that great when compare to Premiere Pro.

The only reason I was able to capture Hi-8 tapes from my Sony camcorder is because the Sony camcorder has a built in TBC. If I disable the built in TBC the Shuttle will start to flicker. A lot of people have had success with the built in TBC of their VCR.

The administrator has disabled public write access.