Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Playback not starting in timeline

Playback not starting in timeline 30 Jan 2019 06:58 #98720

I have been experiencing this ever since, but now it's becoming a bit excessive:

I open an edit (project) in the timeline. I go to the timeline and press PLAY. It works. But now, when I cut out a section for example, and I press PLAY it won't play. I move the playhead and press PLAY. Nothing. The playhead just won't begin to play.

There are many variations on this but they have one thing in common. The only way to get the timeline to play again is to "re-open" it by double clicking on the project in the overview section.

Any ideas at all?

I am on a MacPro2013 with all the latest OS and updates....

Thanks for chiming in!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Playback not starting in timeline 30 Jan 2019 16:23 #98733

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2533
  • Thank you received: 329
  • Karma: 32
What all is in this Timeline? Does it to this to all Timelines, or just one, or just a specific couple?
Have you tested with a single 10 second clip in a Timeline?
What codec is the footage you're using?
Any plugins being used, what specifically?

Hardware specs?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Playback not starting in timeline 30 Jan 2019 22:35 #98751

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 765
  • Thank you received: 68
  • Karma: -1
Known bug. Well I don't know if Apple knows it, but I do and I've reported it to them. Double click on the Project file you are working on in the browser to "reload it". EDIT: I didn't even read the entirety of your post but it seems you found the solution. Usually this happens when I'm adding transitions to audio files that are not wedded with video.
Last Edit: 30 Jan 2019 22:36 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Playback not starting in timeline 31 Jan 2019 05:46 #98758

Redifer wrote:
Known bug. Well I don't know if Apple knows it, but I do and I've reported it to them. Double click on the Project file you are working on in the browser to "reload it". EDIT: I didn't even read the entirety of your post but it seems you found the solution. Usually this happens when I'm adding transitions to audio files that are not wedded with video.

Yes that is it. But at the moment I am having to reload the project after EVERY edit I make.

But I found first solution for the moment: The problem does not occur for me when I use the "Standard" workspace where everything is on the same screen. I am experiencing this only with custom workspaces,

The timeline has 720p24 Porrees Proxy Clips. I am doing simple trims at the moment.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Playback not starting in timeline 02 Feb 2019 23:48 #98779

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 765
  • Thank you received: 68
  • Karma: -1
CONFIRMED - Problem does not exist in default workspace. Digging deeper into it, it seems the problem ONLY exists when the browser is in LIST mode. So it's an issue with the LIST mode. Problem is, I can't even imagine trying to sort through everything in the other mode, just too messy. The only time I don't use list mode is when editing Voiceovers because I need to see the waveforms as I edit so I can decide what makes it to the timeline.
The administrator has disabled public write access.