Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: MXF and Audio Roles

MXF and Audio Roles 25 Feb 2019 08:44 #99038

  • Stasinos
  • Stasinos's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Dhruv FCPX wrote:
In above solution is the resulting file a MXF file with XDCAM HD 422 50 Mbps?
What are the settings please?

You will need Compressor for this to work. Open Compressor and you will find the exact same destination that you where using inside FCPX. In this case it's XDCAM HD 422 50 Mbps (it is located inside the MXF folder on the left window of compressor which is the preset library).

Duplicate this preset, rename it to something like MXF dual mono and then go the audio tab and change the configuration from 8 mono to dual mono. That's it. Open FCPX and load the preset as a destination.

From now on you can use this destination instead of sharing a master file.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

MXF and Audio Roles 25 Feb 2019 09:09 #99039

  • Dhruv FCPX
  • Dhruv FCPX's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Thank you so much Stasinos..I had already done that ..yes I get two mono tracks..but I need stereo as the broadcaster says it is MONO! Also when I import that MXF file into an event and if I scrub over it ..it shows only 1 track MONO..when I put it on the timeline it has two mono tracks..so I go to audio configuration and make it STEREO...and yes it does play in stereo! Can the broadcaster do this while playing it on air? I am sure they dont use FCPX to play the file on air... so they are asking for a MXF file with stereo audio. Any workaround? Appreciate your help.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

MXF and Audio Roles 02 Mar 2019 10:52 #99115

  • Dhruv FCPX
  • Dhruv FCPX's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Hi Guys
After exhausting trials I have come to the conclusion that doesnt matter what you do to the audio on FCPX 10.4 timeline, if you send it to Compressor to make a MXF ( XDCAM HD) file the resulting file will only give you MONO audio!! There is NO option to change the audio to Multitrack at all. If I make a Uncompressed 1080i
25 frames I get that option and it delivers Stereo audio...Does anyone know whether this is a bug? Is there
any solution as my broadcaster only accepts XDCAM HD 422 50 Mbps MXF file with stereo audio. Please someone help.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

MXF and Audio Roles 02 Mar 2019 14:59 #99117

  • Stasinos
  • Stasinos's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Dhruv FCPX wrote:
Hi Guys
After exhausting trials I have come to the conclusion that doesnt matter what you do to the audio on FCPX 10.4 timeline, if you send it to Compressor to make a MXF ( XDCAM HD) file the resulting file will only give you MONO audio!! There is NO option to change the audio to Multitrack at all. If I make a Uncompressed 1080i
25 frames I get that option and it delivers Stereo audio...Does anyone know whether this is a bug? Is there
any solution as my broadcaster only accepts XDCAM HD 422 50 Mbps MXF file with stereo audio. Please someone help.

I was also trying to export a stereo MXF but then i realised that the TV station was converting any stereo file to dual mono anyway.

Since FCPX's exporter refuses to export a stereo MXF and Compressor has only dual mono as an option i am curious to see a solution to this.

If the TV station doesn't accept dual mono audio (i can't see the reason though) you have always the option to export an audio master file and send this separately. To my knowledge, almost any server can digest video and audio as separate files.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

MXF and Audio Roles 10 Sep 2019 18:48 #101372

  • Nina
  • Nina's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Hi everyone,

I have similar problems. For a TV show I need to deliver an MXF HDCAM with 8 tracks, 1-2 and 7-8 stereo and 3-4-5-6 empty. With the roles what I manage to do is either export a file with tracks 1 to 8 stereo (all of them full), or 1-2-7-8 stereo, the broadcaster sees in his system that there is 4 tracks. I cannot export the file with tracks 3-4-5-6 empty.

Do you have any idea how I could fix that ?
I tried with compressor too but I cannot export empty tracks either.

Thanks in advance!
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2