Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 10 Jan 2019 10:48 #98452

  • nobbystylus
  • nobbystylus's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
For some reason, when adding sound fx in FCPX I'm not getting any of my installed Logic Pro sound fx show up in the browser. I can see things in the Photos, Tunes and Sound Effects sections, but nothing in Garageband or Logic, even thought I've got a very large installed set of sound fx and music loops installed as part of Logic.

Any ideas? I've not moved them to any custom places or anything.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 10 Jan 2019 11:23 #98453

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2725
  • Thank you received: 359
  • Karma: 33
Those show projects you’ve saved in the proper folder, not loops or sound effects. If I’m understanding you correctly.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 10 Jan 2019 11:27 #98454

  • nobbystylus
  • nobbystylus's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
Its the photos and audio sidebar - basically there is a big list of stuff in the Photos, iTunes and Sound Effects sections, but there is no clips at all in the Logic Pro X or Garageband sections. I want to access all the in-built SFX libraries from Logic and Garageband within FCPX but nothing is showing up despite having absolutely loads of SFX on my machine.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 11 Jan 2019 02:01 #98460

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2725
  • Thank you received: 359
  • Karma: 33
Logic's filter are in the Effects browser, below the video effects.
Where you're looking only shows projects from those apps that are kept in the default location for those apps. Not their effects/filters.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 11 Jan 2019 11:06 #98463

I'm fairly positive that both Final Cut And Logic keep their own audio databases. Although FCPX may be aware some of Logic's defaults it won't have access to Logic's database.

So you'll probably have to add it to Final Cut manually. I just haven't tried it for a while, so I don't know if it's possible and I certainly don't know whether you can do it without Final Cut wanting to copy everything to its desired location.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 11 Jan 2019 11:11 #98464

  • nobbystylus
  • nobbystylus's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
Thanks for your thoughts. Surely within FCP it just references the APPLE LOOPS folder within the Library folder? For some reason none of the tonnes of audio clips are showing up in FCPX, which I can browse within Garageband or Logic ...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 11 Jan 2019 11:13 #98465

  • nobbystylus
  • nobbystylus's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
Its also doesn't seem possible to ADD to the FCPX database without creating an EVENT or some such, but I don't want to do that for every project...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 11 Jan 2019 11:48 #98466

  • nobbystylus
  • nobbystylus's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
Ok - so I've sorted this out - In the Library folder in Finder there is an APPLE LOOPS folder. Within that there is a Final Cut Sound Effects folder - I created aliases of all the sound effects folders that weren't showing up and copied into there - Bingo!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 13 Jan 2019 06:06 #98476

  • dgwvideo
  • dgwvideo's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1874
  • Thank you received: 217
  • Karma: 31
The exact path for audio files to show up in the FCPX browser is:

HD/Library/Audio/Apple Loops/Apple/Final Cut Pro Sound Effects

You can place multiple folders in that location, or you can place a single folder containing subfolders of all your music and SFX categories. You can either copy files directly or link to them.
Creating history....one edit at a time !
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Logic Pro Audio clips not showing up in FCPX 16 Jan 2019 09:59 #98516

I remember a recent spade of Logic offering the capability to store the standard library on a different disk. I had just upgraded to a new computer at that time so everything was a fresh install for me.

So I want through the process and put the library on an external disk, but I had noticing some doubling up. This was because FCPX insisted on installing its own sound library. I tried putting Aliases and Symbolic Links in place of the enclosing folder, Final Cut wasn't having any of it. So to avoid double ups I linked Logic to the FCPX folders, and deleted it's own. This is after I varied that they contained exactly the same files.

It's noisome, but hopefully Apple will update FCPX to allow custom audio file locations as well.
The administrator has disabled public write access.