Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 08:27 #97740

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
One thing I enjoyed in FCP7 is that I could, for example, take a still image that's already on the timeline, take it into Photoshop, change it, save it, and it IMMEDIATELY updates to the new version on the timeline. Adobe Premiere also does this. Final Cut Pro X, not really. Even if I make a change on an already imported file that's stored in the library itself and save it, FCPX still somehow references the old version. Is there a way to force it to see the new version without re-importing it under a different filename?

God I miss this easy-to-use feature from FCP7.

Edit: The best way seems to be to right-click the image or clip in the timeline, choose "rename clip" and change or add just one character. But honestly it should "just work". It is Apple after all.
Last Edit: 17 Nov 2018 08:30 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 10:10 #97743

Redifer wrote:
… and it IMMEDIATELY updates to the new version on the timeline.…

This is exactly what FCPX does (here):
Import a pic file, managed/file in place.
Open and change that file, save it under the same name at the same location => instant update in Project timeline, as in Event… 

??
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 19:37 #97747

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
LOL, nope!

For example if I have a still image placed on the timeline that I created in Photoshop, and I need to make a change, I right click the image in the timeline "Reveal in browsr", then right click that to "Reveal in Finder" and then open THAT, change it, press save, close and go back to FCPX, old version is still there. Every time. I dunno if the length of my project matters, but they are always 20 minutes +.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 20:12 #97751

  • smg669
  • smg669's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 188
  • Thank you received: 25
  • Karma: 0
I agree with Karsten. This works in FCPX. I do it all the time.

Is your media being copied into the Library location or is it being left in place on import? Is your media managed externally or stored within the Library .fcpbundle? Are you using optimized media and/or proxy media?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 21:34 #97752

  • thinkfilm
  • thinkfilm's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 150
  • Thank you received: 23
  • Karma: 3
Works as advertised for me too. FWIW - this from the FCPX help manual for 10.4:

Edit a still image with an external image editing app
You can modify a still image with an external image editing app, and the changes appear automatically in the clip in Final Cut Pro.

Add a still image to the timeline.

To locate the clip’s source media file in the Finder, press Shift-Command-R.

Open the source media file in the external image editing app.

In the image editing app, modify the image and save the changes.

Switch back to Final Cut Pro.

The changes appear automatically in the still-image clip in Final Cut Pro.
Last Edit: 17 Nov 2018 21:35 by thinkfilm.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 17 Nov 2018 23:54 #97756

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
My media is kept in-library. I don't think still images are optimized but I generally never optimize media. It will update but it often takes at least a minute.

Please watch this video and tell me exactly what I'm doing wrong. www.gamesack.net/crap/noupdate.mov

Please note that I am using PNG with transparencies.
Last Edit: 17 Nov 2018 23:56 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 18 Nov 2018 02:41 #97759

  • smg669
  • smg669's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 188
  • Thank you received: 25
  • Karma: 0
This is interesting. Either something is messed up with your system or we're missing some bit of information about how you've got it set up.

EDIT: Are you saying that the PNG in your video example will eventually update within FCPX after several minutes??
Last Edit: 18 Nov 2018 02:42 by smg669.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 18 Nov 2018 02:50 #97760

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
Yes. Or if I restart FCPX that usually works too.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 18 Nov 2018 02:58 #97761

  • smg669
  • smg669's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 188
  • Thank you received: 25
  • Karma: 0
Redifer wrote:
Yes. Or if I restart FCPX that usually works too.

Well, your story has changed significantly then. Your initial posts implied that the changes just didn't show up at all, ever. Now you're saying that they do show up, but there is a delay – and that sometimes an app restart is required?

That sounds like a system/configuration issue/glitch. It sometimes takes a few beats for my media to relink and/or update – but not the kind of time you're talking about. I keep my media external from the Library .fcpbundle, but that shouldn't be the issue.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 18 Nov 2018 03:44 #97763

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
This has always been the issue for me ever since FCPX v 10.0. It's always taken finagling of some kind and sometimes it just doesn't show up ever and I get exasperated and restart. Not sure what could even possibly be the issue, but clearly my FCPX isn't refreshing like it should be.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 19 Nov 2018 01:11 #97777

  • martinX
  • martinX's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 65
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
Just tried a quick one myself. After altering the image that is sitting on the timeline, if I hover the playhead or move it back and forth, no changes can be seen, but if I hit play, the changes are able to be seen.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 19 Nov 2018 07:48 #97786

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
Are you hitting play with the space bar? That still shows the unmodified file for me. I can even render it and it renders with the old data. I reported it to Apple but I'm 100% confident it will not be fixed, just like everything else I've ever reported. Might as well not even bother any more. They don't care.
Last Edit: 19 Nov 2018 07:48 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 19 Nov 2018 12:06 #97788

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2292
  • Thank you received: 302
  • Karma: 33
(yawn)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 19 Nov 2018 22:44 #97794

  • martinX
  • martinX's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 65
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
Yes. Spacebar, L key. All the same. Renders out OK, too. Sorry it's not working for you, but it is here. :unsure:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 20 Nov 2018 08:15 #97805

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
FCPX.guru wrote:
(yawn)
Sorry that my issues with FCPX (which are REAL issues) bore or inconvenience you. I know you don't think my problem is real or worth solving, but it's an actual existing issue.

To everyone else: Any idea what could possibly cause this or how to resolve it?
Last Edit: 20 Nov 2018 08:19 by Redifer.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 20 Nov 2018 08:36 #97806

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
I seemed to have figured it out! It has to do with "Better Performance" vs "Better Quality". I always have my stuff set to "Better Quality". If I change it to "Better Performance" the changes appear right away. Set it back to "Better Quality" and the changes actually go away.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 20 Nov 2018 18:38 #97837

  • smg669
  • smg669's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 188
  • Thank you received: 25
  • Karma: 0
Redifer wrote:
I seemed to have figured it out! It has to do with "Better Performance" vs "Better Quality". I always have my stuff set to "Better Quality". If I change it to "Better Performance" the changes appear right away. Set it back to "Better Quality" and the changes actually go away.

Are the sections that this happens rendered (i.e. do they require rendering)? Maybe FCPX is rendering the section you have the PNG in and when you revise the PNG FCPX isn't smart enough to know that the file is changed and that the section requires re-rendering. Hence it is only displaying the render file which still reflects the original PNG file. Perhaps the Performance/Quality toggle is allowing you to bypass the rendered file? I would look into that as well.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 20 Nov 2018 19:03 #97840

  • martinX
  • martinX's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 65
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 0
Good catch.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

How to force FCPX to recognize changes made to already-imported files 21 Nov 2018 00:23 #97852

  • Redifer
  • Redifer's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 703
  • Thank you received: 63
  • Karma: 0
smg669 wrote:
Are the sections that this happens rendered (i.e. do they require rendering)? Maybe FCPX is rendering the section you have the PNG in and when you revise the PNG FCPX isn't smart enough to know that the file is changed and that the section requires re-rendering. Hence it is only displaying the render file which still reflects the original PNG file. Perhaps the Performance/Quality toggle is allowing you to bypass the rendered file? I would look into that as well.

According to my tests I don't think this matters. I can create a new timeline, drop a still image in just for a test and not render it. Usually I don't get a render bar over still images anyway so I don't think it needs to render unless I animate them. I have auto-rendering turned off as well.
The administrator has disabled public write access.