Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline?

Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline? 12 Oct 2018 12:22 #97360

  • bhuether
  • bhuether's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Hi, I have two video clips and two audio clips. I am not sure what is considered project setup to get editing to behave as I need. Right now the two video clips are on top and two audio tracks on bottom. I will be intercutting the video clips with one another. If I use blade on top audio track and delete a portion, the audio track below it moves up to fill the gap... Certainly not the behavior I need. Also noticed that when I cut a portion of the audio, that the very top video track moved top the left by the same amount as the deleted time in the audio file.

Basically these two audio and two video tracks are all aligned in time. So when I cut things, I need all tracks to adjust. I suspect there is some feature that facilitates this and it is just a setup issue. Anyway, curious how you set up your workflow for this sort of editing.


thanks, Brian
thanks, Brian
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline? 12 Oct 2018 12:45 #97363

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4204
  • Thank you received: 673
  • Karma: 109
Assign separate roles to the two audio tracks. Set up separate lanes in the roles timeline index.

The application has no tracks. Everything is free floating and connected to the primary storyline.

Have you considered using the multicam function for your two shot edit?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline? 12 Oct 2018 17:20 #97372

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2591
  • Thank you received: 340
  • Karma: 32
I second the use of a Multicam for this.

"Also noticed that when I cut a portion of the audio, that the very top video track moved top the left by the same amount as the deleted time in the audio file."

That tells me you're cutting in the Primary Timeline, and the Connected Clip is moving with it.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline? 13 Oct 2018 08:40 #97377

  • bhuether
  • bhuether's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Tom, Guru, interesting. I hadn't yet dived into the roles aspect of FCPX and maybe that is what I will do. As far as multicam I wasn't sure if I would use both angles in split screen at some point but at this point I realize that I am not doing split screens and so yeah I think that multicam feature will be perfect.

thanks!

Brian
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Working with audio and video - how to set up storyline? 13 Oct 2018 13:40 #97378

  • joema
  • joema's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 1145
  • Thank you received: 238
  • Karma: 20
bhuether wrote:
...As far as multicam I wasn't sure if I would use both angles in split screen at some point but at this point I realize that I am not doing split screens and so yeah I think that multicam feature will be perfect...

You can make a split screen from a multicam as shown in MacBreak Studio #285:



"The Secret Power of FCPX Roles": blog.frame.io/2017/11/30/fcpx-roles/

"FCP X: Audio Editing with Secondary Storylines": www.macprovideo.com/article/final-cut/fc...econdary-storylines/

MacBreak Studio #385, various tricks when working with connected clips:
The administrator has disabled public write access.