Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 01 Oct 2018 17:02 #97250

Hi, I moved to FCPX for a while now, find it fantastic. But, just installed a whole new setup, that includes a Blackmagic mini monitor 4k > mini converter SDI to HDMI 6g > LG OLED.

I'm working on feature film that is offline now (2048x858 2k dci 2.39). The actual footage is 2048x1080 - it was RED 8k proxy created in camera. The FCPX GUI, when I set the project to 2048x858, works fine, with the black bars on top and Botton. But... Through the external setup (Blackmagic, etc.) , on LG OLED 4k, it doesn't work. The image stretches to cover the whole area, no matter what I do.

I Davinci it works fine.

I noticed that FCPX output, on Preferences, does not change, when I change Blackmgic's mini monitor app setup to 2k DCI. It remais, on FCPX, saying that the output is 2048 x 1080, even if the project and footage (and Blackmagic setup) are set to 2048x858.

I could use letterboxes, but it's a pain to work with,

I don't know if this is a FCP issue/incompatibility, or if there is a solution. Sounds strange that this wouldn't work.

I tried half a dozen forums already, no-one seems to know or care. So PLEASE, could anyone, fellow FCP users, shed some light on this?

I would really appreciate

Thanks

Best

Marco
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 02 Oct 2018 10:40 #97256

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2227
  • Thank you received: 299
  • Karma: 33
What Mac model are you on?
Why the SDI to HDMI converter, doesn't that BMD converter have HDMI output?
Since you need to go out HDMI, I'd keep SDI out of the chain if at all possible.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 02 Oct 2018 15:16 #97261

Thanks very much for the response.

I'm on a High Sierra 10.13.6 , Hackintosh, i9 , VEGA 64 + 1080ti. The Vega is mainly for FCP. It's a beefy machine, for editing and color grading.

I use the converter as LUT BOX, as it is way cheaper then the alternatives, that I don't know if they have HDMI >HDMI options either.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 03 Oct 2018 00:53 #97266

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
I have the Exact Same issue, but I'm using a direct to HDMI output from my BMD card, I have been trying to find out how to fix this fro over a yer now and no luck, I even tried with a AJA card but same result, seems that FCP docent send Black bars for not deformation the image.. I ended up using a thunderbolt to HDMI adaptor, that way it did worked, but it has a hit on the graphic card and is not ideal... hope some one has a better solution.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 03 Oct 2018 01:27 #97267

This is very bad news... If we can't fix that, it means that FCPX cannot handle a "classic" pro environment, with an external monitor, on 2.39 projects? If that's the case, they should really address it, specially after so many successful attempts on making FCPX better and pro. I installed it in my production company, and practically "forced" editors to learn it. Now they all love it. But this alone might push away a lot of editors. Does anyone have a solution?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 03 Oct 2018 05:06 #97272

You don't say whether you have tried the aspect ratio controls for the TV in its settings. What you are looking for is a setting that displays pixel for pixel on the TV i.e. every pixel sent is displayed as one pixel with no stretch or zoom. The correct setting is often not so obvious because manufacturers always have a new way of describing the simplest thing. It's sometimes stated as 1:1, True HD, etc.

You don't say which model TV you have, but having a look at the User Manual for one of LG's OLED 4K models, it says there is a setting in Picture/Aspect Ratio called Just Scan which implies this may be pixel for pixel. Also, in All-Direction Zoom, there is Adjust Zoom Ratio but doesn't say what this gets you. It's all worth a try if you haven't already.

If DaVinci was truly sending out 2048x 848 it may have been sending a signal to the TV to scan at this aspect ratio which may have been fine if the TV was in full Auto. FCPX probably doesn't do this.

I hope this helps.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 04 Oct 2018 06:56 #97279

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
The most frustrating thing for me is that I can’t find any one talking about this on the web (this is the first time I find some one with the same issue), and when no one is talking about it, it usually goes without fix... hope this start moving things.

Also, not an easy problem to describe he he.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 04 Oct 2018 07:23 #97280

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 185
  • Thank you received: 34
  • Karma: 3
"The actual footage is 2048x1080" so if I understand you correctly are actually setting your are actually setting your project to get a 2:39 ratio, an other way (work around) would be to set a crop on all footage and keep the original camera size for the project until the "share" operation then changing the project 2048x858. I know it's not elegant but this is not too difficult and this way you are not stock with a letterbox filter.

I know Davinci does it all since it was originally created for film, but it is lousy to do creative editing in and for that FCPX is the BEST , I only do finishing with Davinci.

You could also shoot anamorphic , the problems would be different but if you are only monitoring on your 4k LG then the "unsqeeze" would go the other way.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 04 Oct 2018 18:22 #97292

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
No, that would work, because the problem is that FCPX doest sent the proper black bars to the A/V output when using an external video card, so that would only deform in a deferent but worst way the footage. This is something that premier, AVID and even FCP7 do correctly, so it should be so hard to fix in the software side.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 05 Oct 2018 00:15 #97295

Very weird indeed, nowhere people are talking about this.
At least it is good to know that's a real issue, not some configuration error. So i'll stop trying to fix it. My workaround was to create a compound clip with black bars on top and bottom, and put it above everything. As it's an 8k project, there's a lot of reframing going on, and cropping the image wouldn't let me do that. May someone else with the same problem, other solution?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 05 Oct 2018 00:18 #97296

Another thing is that the monitor is UHD, and the film is 4K DCI, so it crops the image on the sides. Letterboxing is a bad bad workaround. I have to keep checking on my computer monitor all the time for the real framing.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 05 Oct 2018 01:35 #97297

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 185
  • Thank you received: 34
  • Karma: 3
You could also shoot anamorphic , the problems would be different but if you are only monitoring on your 4k LG then the "unsqeeze" would go the other way.

WOW I have just tried this anamorphic hypotheses and it is just crazy , it could not be worst !!! sorry :oops:

on the other hand the first work around worked perfectly for me but since you are reframing shots I understand that it is not practical at all...

what a mess.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 09 Oct 2018 04:01 #97332

Yes, It's a mess indeed.... But thanks for the advice. Still hoping someone would have a solution. As far as the TV SET, its a LG OLED 55 B7. I tried all aspect ratio solutions, including "just scan", which appears to include some more of the picture, as for going to UHD. The squeezes are limited and useless, doesn't let you go down enough to create black bars. Should bu such an easy solution, but... FCPX is the best, I agree, and don't intend to move away any time soon. But working with a top layer kinds of take all the fun and functionality of it
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 15 Oct 2018 15:21 #97394

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
I have tried this, and no, sadly it seems to be FCPX the one sending the signal wrong, as with any other program (Media Composer, Premiere, Resolve and even Light Works) the image looks perfect with the black bars... but FCPX sends the anamorphic bizzar thing :(
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 19 Oct 2018 19:28 #97451

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
So news on this front? I keep coming back in hopes someone has an actual fix or workaround :(
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 20 Oct 2018 02:36 #97454

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 185
  • Thank you received: 34
  • Karma: 3
Just to let you know another test I did : direct HDMI to the monitor from the computer or via a usb C to HDMI selected as AV output works perfectly with a custom 2:39 project. I know this is very questionable for colour grading but for easy monitoring or client viewing the cut it is functionnal then switch HDMI input on monitor and to BMD box when grading with Davinci ...
Last Edit: 20 Oct 2018 13:03 by Francois.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 22 Oct 2018 22:21 #97481

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Yes, I have used it like that before, the thing is that in this way it takes a hit a your GPU performance, and it makes for a les reliable set up, its not ideal, but an actual work around, it makes my Black Magic card be a waste of money when using FCPX, still makes me angry that it works, literally, with any other software around...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 26 Oct 2018 23:47 #97541

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 185
  • Thank you received: 34
  • Karma: 3
Since only HDMI seems to work in FCPX , I am wandering if BMD mini converter HDMI to SDI would work

Another similar trouble:
www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...s-not-happy-together
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 27 Oct 2018 14:54 #97543

  • sperezrleon
  • sperezrleon's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • No hay mucho que decir... ni siquiera tengo cita favorita :)
  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Nop, I have a HDMI BMD card, not an SDI one and the result is the same , is not an issue with the type of I/O in the card, is an issue with the way FCPX communicates with the card... I would think is something that BMD could fix on their end, but again, if every other software does it correctly I would prefer to be fixed in FCPX side.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Output SDI MONITOR Aspect Ratio issues 28 Oct 2018 00:15 #97545

  • Francois
  • Francois's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 185
  • Thank you received: 34
  • Karma: 3
All I am saying is that direct FCPX apple HDMI feed to monitor does not produce the problem , so if we feed this to BMD HDMI to SDI converter and that this device is faithful to this feed , it could work. It would be interesting if someone that has this converter would test that.

What are the spec of your Mac or is it a Hackintosh...
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2