Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 17 Jun 2018 10:23 #95973

  • Patrice Freymond
  • Patrice Freymond's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
Hi,

for reasons I won't go into I have over 100 Motion templates originated in Motion 4 to upgrade to Motion 5.

Upgrading is usually done by opening a template in Motion 5 and re-saving it either replacing the original or as a duplicate. This work great to do manually for a few templates, but for over 100?

I've been thinking of automating this with Automator but can't see how ( I have very basic automator skills). Maybe an Apple script could do that too? ... and I don't have skills in command line. And I have limited time to make this work... of course. But I am very open to learning :)

Any help is welcome

Patrice
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 18 Jun 2018 11:01 #95976

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2240
  • Thank you received: 299
  • Karma: 33
That's a TON of Motion templates. Don't think I've ever had that many at one time, ever. And I use Motion daily for broadcast. I'd recommend just converting them as you need them. Eventually they would all get converted without much fuss.

As for batch converting... I don't have any that old to test with. If you could zip one up I could test and probably get Automator to do it, as long as it can recognize/click the "Convert' button when prompted (I'm pretty sure it can).

Just curious, what are these used for, to have so many?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 18 Jun 2018 12:13 #95977

  • Patrice Freymond
  • Patrice Freymond's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
Hi Ben,

the issue maybe that when Motion opens the template you get two choices, one to save as copy and one to convert the original. I'd like to avoid the save as copy which is... the default proposition.

These are titles that are generated using Automotion, a great software that made generatingtemplate-based titles from a spreadsheet fairly automatic. Unfortunately this was not developped further after FCPX and the updated Motion came into play. The great advantage of using Automotion was that you could teach it in 15 minutes and have someone generate tons of tiles in minutes. I dream of someone creating something like this for Motion 5...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 18 Jun 2018 18:06 #95981

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3556
  • Thank you received: 621
  • Karma: 61
preface:
I have no clue of Automotion, except what I actually have read on Digital-Heavens website, and I never used FCp7…  but I like to use Motion… 5, I should mention…
Patrice Freymond wrote:
… when Motion opens the template you get two choices, one to save as copy and one to convert the original. I'd like to avoid the save as copy which is... the default proposition.

These are titles that are generated using Automotion, a great software that made generatingtemplate-based titles from a spreadsheet fairly automatic. …

2.5 things come to my mind:
• just to alter text in a custom Motion-Title plugin, there's no need to open it in Motion! Just 'publish' the text-well, and anything you type-in automatically gets formatted, animated, whatever you've created in Motion for it…

• there IS an auto-fill feature in Motion5… the underrated 'Text From File', I demoed here
in this HowTo:
www.fcp.co/forum/7-fcpx-how-to-tutorials...3rds-with-a-txt-file

• to fully automate it, the source is maybe problematic: The 'file' Motion expects has to be, as described, a very plain txt.file… you haven't told us, what your source is, but many tools offer that as an optional export format.

• … the 0.5 option is, not automatically, using rigs and Motions REC function, to prep a dozen variation of a 'template', you select in FCPX by a fancy pop-menu…

… but, no offense meant, I assume you do not use M5 to its full potential (FCPX either) ;)
Last Edit: 18 Jun 2018 18:08 by Karsten Schlüter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 18 Jun 2018 19:31 #95982

  • Patrice Freymond
  • Patrice Freymond's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
no offence taken Karsten, but to be clear:

- the whole point of using this workflow, however old it may appear to be, is to have someone produce ready to use titles not using either Motion OR FCPX.

- thank you for pointing me to the text-from-file function; I will have a look into it to see if it could replace, even partially, the current workflow.

- thank you for your help

P.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 18 Jun 2018 19:45 #95983

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2240
  • Thank you received: 299
  • Karma: 33
www.digital-heaven.co.uk/automotion

In something like a corporate or broadcast environment where you're duplicating something a kazillion times, Automoation was a godsend.

Example; I shoot a :30 for a car dealership (or jeweler or whoever). They want to change only what's on sale that week, everything else stays the same. They plan these out for weeks in advance. Automotion made this a breeze.

I only used it on one project back in the day, but I remember it saved us a ton of time. FCPX templates can't do that today. One of the rarely used, but invaluable when you did use it, gems of the old days.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 19 Jun 2018 04:01 #95988

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3556
  • Thank you received: 621
  • Karma: 61
Patrice Freymond wrote:
… to have someone produce ready to use titles not using either Motion OR FCPX.….

hu? :blink: you lost me here …
So, in my own words, Automotion is… was a 3rd party slides-maker, like any 'paint' app, I could use to create titles (never underestimate the power of psd in FCPX), but without investing 50 bucks into a seat of M5 (just reading - Automotion 495$ … oopsi) ?

Can you elaborate a bit on your task, or workflow? (no, to update a single project a week, as Ben mentioned, I see no need for any additional tools ...)

I would fully understand, if you have, for instance, in a live (!) situation, to update constantly the ranking of 20 contestants in a car-race… or, have to illustrate, again in some time critical situation (say, a conference) hundreds of data from some scientific project to generate animate curves & pies…

… I'm convinced, I completely miss your point with my narrow ignorance … :woohoo:
But, you look for advice how to 'update' Motion titles = which is only needed when to customize them, not when updating texts inside them, and HowTo create 'slides' outside the Motion/FinalCut sphere… which can be done with any app with some 'graphical' output (hobbyists like me not shy to abuse Keynote for animations) …

eager to learn, please elaborate .... << not, again, meant ironically … I know, my 'tone' is often a bit … grumpy, me German, to my excuse...... (this board lacks a smiley with a Kaiser helmet... hm?)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 19 Jun 2018 07:23 #95990

  • Patrice Freymond
  • Patrice Freymond's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
Karsten, es tut mir leid dass mein deutsch nicht gut genug ist um dir auf deine sprache zu beantworten (and no, this is not some cheap google translate or expensive but obscure software, it is just me, mistakes included :( ) But I guess we both have good enough english to survive this.

I thought I had averted getting myself and any responder in a hole by starting my first message with : "for reasons that I won't get into" or something like that. Well, I tried, didn't I ? So here is the in depth explaination (you asked for it now buckle up).

Automotion generated Motion TITLES compatible with FCPX, not "slides" that you could produce on Photoshop. And it did that on a laptop devoid of either Motion or FCPX (or FCP7). All you needed was 1) one or several title templates made in Motion 2) the content of your titles neatly lined up in a spreadsheet (and I believe it was ok with CSV too). Once you matched the fields of your spreadsheet with the fields of your Motion template (i.e Name, Surname, Function, or whatever name you had given the templates text layers), it could batch export Motion titles.

An entire show's titles could be generated within minutes, with alternatives such as left or right or different coloured lower thirds etc. Once you placed this in the local Motion templates folder they would appear in the title browser of fcpx ready for use by the editor. If there was, god forbid, any mispelling, the editor could edit the title directly in FCPX.
Where Automotion shined was also that once you'd done this first export, if the operator (as in Chyron operator?) had mistakenly chosen the wrong templates, it took a few minutes to redo a new export with the right ones, because we had a standardized way of building and naming templates.

In short, the 495USD you paid for Automotion was for the thousands you saved in not having an editor + editroom sit there TYPING or CUT AND PASTING titles for hours on end. I hope this longish explanation helps in understanding the value of this tool.

Now remember that with older versions of Motion there were no distinctions with the files it produced, they were all motion projects. Moving to FCPX categories were introduced so a Title was recognizable as such by FCPX and would place above all else in your timeline automatically. We could still use Automotion though, as long as we created the (.motn) templates in Motion 4 and then, prior to dropping them in the Motion Templates folder, changed their extension to .moti. It worked.
Motion 5 changed that and changing the extensions (easily automatized) is not enough anymore. Now we need to open and save each title individually. Time consuming, annoying and not the best use of an editor/edit room time. Hence my search for a solution to automatize the process. (or find an alternative).

With a few exceptions all our lower thirds can be generated in Motion 4 and that is one of the reason we'd like to keep batch producing them using Automotion + some automatized way of converting the titles.

Another way I would like to explore is to determine what is actually different between the Motion 4 title and the Motion 5 title. Maybe a simple search and replace function could "clean" the original one ? How does one open a template or title in order to see its content/ Is it xml? fcpxml? I am sure somebody here knows (you Karsten?).

edit: I just answered this by opening a title in Text Edit; It appears to be xml.

Apologies for boring the hell out of those who attempted to read all this, but if you stayed and have some ideas please share. Oh and it does not matter where you are from or if you enjoy wearing pointy helmets, to each his own :)

thanks

Patrice
Last Edit: 19 Jun 2018 08:13 by Patrice Freymond.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 19 Jun 2018 10:07 #95991

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3556
  • Thank you received: 621
  • Karma: 61
Patrice Freymond wrote:
… In short, the 495USD you paid for Automotion was for the thousands you saved in not having an editor + editroom sit there TYPING or CUT AND PASTING titles for hours on end. I hope this longish explanation helps in understanding the value of this tool.…

gottit! It pre-produces titles outside the edit-suite, and produced 'Titles' can be corrected while editing…

… slammed something together, maybe it inspires you :

pat3.jpg


In FCPX, my plugin installed, added to the project (you can set it as Default Title/Lower 3rd, to give it a fast keyboard combo)

For demo purposes:
• you can change the map… (do demo 'custom animated Lower3rd')
•  the editor can select pre-made 2nd lines
• and finally, you can type-in/copy+paste, e.g. from a Note…

That #3 is something which doesn't made it on your wishlist… just added the option because somehow somebody HAS to 'import' those names… pre-edit or in-edit. But, imho, is a quick copy/paste maneuver from a 'text file' into the text-well in the plugins Inspector …

If you want to make it a 100% pre-fabricated , all your assistant has to do, is adding content in the according rig:

pat2.jpg


… so, the editor selects from the drop-down menu. BUT has the option to type 'directly' onto the canvas… for corrections.

I'm aware, a very diff. workflow, but - imho - no more 'steps' as in your previous… One has to design the titles, one has to enter content, one has to place it into the FC project…

What it lacks: easy replacement of design… If, while in production, some genius (aka The Client) comes up with "nah, don't like blue… what about green?" you have to mod the plugin in Motion and replace each title in your project (= the texts stays!)… manually.

… meant as suggestion…
to play with, I've attached the Motion file… after dl/unzip, you can open it in Motion or drag the whole folder it into your ~/Movies/Motion Templates/Titles folder…

btw: your German is excellent! … but board lingo is English… or what the members claim as… :P
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 19 Jun 2018 10:25 #95992

  • Patrice Freymond
  • Patrice Freymond's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 40
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 1
Thank you !

will look into it and let you know.
Patrice
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Batch upgrading Motion 4 templates to Motion 5 19 Jun 2018 10:52 #95993

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2240
  • Thank you received: 299
  • Karma: 33
"no, to update a single project a week, as Ben mentioned, I see no need for any additional tools ..."

"They plan these out for weeks in advance." That means doing them all in one day, not one a week, that's dozens at tone time.
Last Edit: 19 Jun 2018 10:53 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.