Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 00:45 #95564

  • Whokuni
  • Whokuni's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
:( I'm working on a very, very simple clip with about 21 still frames (with the exception of 2 or 3 small video clips). Set all the stills to 6frames and when I try to add a basic transition command+t I keep getting an error code that says the media isn't long enough. I have tried to do just a few frames and it works fine but then it wont let me add a transition after that. Can any suggest what might be the problem or how might I be able to solve the problem please?

Thanking you in advance,
Whokuni

Sorry can't add an attachment of the error msg because it is in Japanese.

PS. Using Ken Burns on each frame if that should make any difference.,
Last Edit: 20 May 2018 00:49 by Whokuni.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 02:33 #95565

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2349
  • Thank you received: 308
  • Karma: 33
By default a transition takes up 1 second. If you're editing 24 fps, that's 12 frames on each side it needs as "handles" to do. Handles are how much unused media is on that before the In Point and after the Out Point.

Go to Preferences, to Editing, and set Transition Duration to something like 3 frames.

Another issue is, no one can really perceive a 3-6 frame transition, realistically. Are you sure you don't mean seconds? Cause if you do, same math applies. If you apply a 1 second transition between two clips, the first clip needs at least 1 second of unused media after its Out Point, and the second clip needs at least 1 second of unused media before its In Point.

Now, you're using stills. So FCPX will assume each only has the duration set in the Preferences, I think. Again, Preferences > Editing, and set the default duration for Stills.
Last Edit: 20 May 2018 02:35 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 07:20 #95566

  • Whokuni
  • Whokuni's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Thank you for that information. However, I still dont seem to be able to solve the problem. I have attached a couple of screen shots to let you see what I have. And, yes, you were right. I should have said seconds.

Thanking you.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 10:36 #95567

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2349
  • Thank you received: 308
  • Karma: 33
I can't duplicate this, it's working fine for me. Except that FCPX is ignoring the Preference setting of 6 seconds. I get all my stills now at 10 seconds despite what I set in Preferences. Bug! But making several still 6 seconds each in the Timeline, applying 1 second transitions, working fine here.

Can you verify the duration of each still in the Timeline?

Not sure what's going on there...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 10:55 #95568

  • Whokuni
  • Whokuni's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Yes, all I can verify 6 for each still. Will delete all tomorrow and start over again to see if it resolves itself. Thank you :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 20 May 2018 22:05 #95572

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2349
  • Thank you received: 308
  • Karma: 33
Since I can't duplicate it, I'd say delete preference files.
Hold both Option and Command keys together while launching FCPX, and when prompted, delete the preference files.
Worth a shot.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Problem adding simple transition to still media video clip 21 May 2018 01:50 #95575

  • Whokuni
  • Whokuni's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
;) No idea what the problem was. Selected all still (except 2 movie clips) set time duration to 6 sec and then did a cmd+tt and all worked. Now why wouldntt it let me do that yesteday? :huh: :unsure: Anyway, thank you. I didnt know about the preference option so will kept it somewhere handy just in case I need it in the future.

Thank you once again
Whokuni
Tokyo
The administrator has disabled public write access.