Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 19 Apr 2018 14:24 #95224

  • chrisb
  • chrisb's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 61
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
I have discovered a quite serious bug in FCPX 10.4.1.

Lassoing a clip (in my case a multicam clip) when zoomed in, selects clip(s) further down the timeline.

Clicking a clip works fine.
This bug has already cost me several hours of repair work, and if you are not careful, it may wreck havoc with your edit!

The video should be quite self explanatory.


The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 19 Apr 2018 14:35 #95225

  • Jonathan Levin
  • Jonathan Levin's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 611
  • Thank you received: 16
  • Karma: 4
It looks like you are using the Range tool while holding Command key???? not sure if there is a lasso tool in current version. I’m not at computer right now.

Sorry I got nothin’
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 19 Apr 2018 15:53 #95230

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 1875
  • Thank you received: 247
  • Karma: 22
He's simply clicking and dragging to perform a lasso function with the default Select tool. Yes, others on other forums have seen this bug, also. Fill out the feedback form, it'll get fixed in what I hope is a very soon released bug update.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 21 Apr 2018 20:24 #95260

  • Samanosuke
  • Samanosuke's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Same problem facing Such a Serious bug in fcpx 10.4.1 update...
Last Edit: 22 Apr 2018 08:25 by Karsten Schlüter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 25 Apr 2018 08:01 #95296

  • Suzero
  • Suzero's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 84
  • Thank you received: 4
  • Karma: 0
I have noticed this too. Weirdly, when lassoing a single clip in the timeline (multicam) the colour board says I have selected multiple clips and does not allow me to adjust colour. If I click the clip instead of lassoing, it is fine and sees it as a single clip being selected.

It seems to only occur on multicam clips.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug - a solution 30 Apr 2018 13:34 #95336

  • dmb
  • dmb's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 31
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 0
The latest version of Command Post, beta 28, provides a solution for the clip selection bug. The plugin has a clever solution. It monitors when you are selecting clips and, if it detects other clips becoming selected, it deselect them. I have only been using it a short while, but it is very fast - I haven’t noticed any slowdown during the selection process. Check it out at commandpost.io. The app is funded by donations, so if you find it useful, drop a donation on them to keep it going.
Last Edit: 30 Apr 2018 13:35 by dmb.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 30 Apr 2018 17:19 #95339

  • Ellard
  • Ellard's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
10.4.2 RELEASED on the App Store

Release notes say they fixed the multi selection bug
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Final Cut Pro X 10.4.1 Serious CLip Selection Bug 30 Apr 2018 17:45 #95343

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 1875
  • Thank you received: 247
  • Karma: 22
1042_2018-04-30.jpg
The administrator has disabled public write access.