Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer

deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer 23 Feb 2018 13:21 #94282

  • ronfya
  • ronfya's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 72
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Hey guys,

I transferred a FCPX 10.3.4 project to Logic 10.3.3 via XML (with the metadata setting set to "audio").
My issue is that all the audio channels I deactivated by unchecking them in FCPX's inspector are not showing muted in Logic. That means for each clip I have to check what to mute or keep on and it's a real PITA.

Any idea on how to fix this ?

Moreover, automation translates well but not the fades in/out. Any insights ?

Thanks !

R.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer 23 Feb 2018 14:06 #94284

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2679
  • Thank you received: 350
  • Karma: 33
It is not a perfect system, needs quit a bit of improvement, has a LONG way to go, and is in no way a substitute for a built-in mixer and real audio tools, IMHO.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer 23 Feb 2018 14:09 #94287

  • ronfya
  • ronfya's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 72
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
True.
Yet, how does this help right now ?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer 23 Feb 2018 14:12 #94289

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2679
  • Thank you received: 350
  • Karma: 33
For large projects, with LOTS of audio and the need for really serous mixing, XML to LPX helps. You can also use X2Pro and get it into ProTools, also. But even that has it's limitations. Not everything translates via XML. But it is better than nothing for large productions. For small productions I find mixing inside FCPX fairly good, but a built-in mixer would help tremendously. Personally I find it insane there isn't already one.

If you're looking to fix this issue "today" or "this week", don't hold your breath.
Last Edit: 23 Feb 2018 14:13 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

deactivated audio channels in FCPX are not muted in Logic after XML transfer 23 Feb 2018 14:17 #94290

  • ronfya
  • ronfya's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 72
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
That does not help me either. And I don't expect Apple to fix the issue right now.
I am trying to see if in the meantime I can find a workaround less dumb than mute all the clips that should be muted ... myself ... AGAIN.
Last Edit: 23 Feb 2018 14:18 by ronfya.
The administrator has disabled public write access.