Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Multitrack QT roles and names when brought back into FCP X.

Multitrack QT roles and names when brought back into FCP X. 21 Aug 2017 16:42 #90036

  • tangierc
  • tangierc's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 88
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
Folks, I really like the ability to make my multitrack QuickTime movies, however there's one issue I'd like know if it's possible to correct. Multitrack QuickTime movies when brought back into FCP X have the same audio role for each track; that being dialogue.

Is it possible for FCP X to identify the roles when the QuickTime is brought back into FCP X the same as they went out?

Example.
Exported Multitrack QuickTime yields a movie with dialogue, music and effects.
That same movie brought back into FCP X identifies each track as all dialogue and therefore with the same role color and named "dialogue-1, dialogue-2, ..." etc.

If correcting this is not possible, can anyone make sense of why FCP X was designed not to identify the imported multitrack roles in the way they were exported in the first place?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Multitrack QT roles and names when brought back into FCP X. 21 Aug 2017 22:23 #90040

  • ianstubbs
  • ianstubbs's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Expert Boarder
  • Posts: 141
  • Thank you received: 19
  • Karma: 1
Sadly role metadata is not stored in the QuickTime file so FCPX has no way of re-assigning them to each audio track on import. It's a simple matter to manually assign them. A (very quick) scan of the QuickTime standard reveals no easy way for role names to be stored but I could be wrong. It would be a nice facility to have though - maybe Apple will surprise us.

Ian.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Multitrack QT roles and names when brought back into FCP X. 21 Aug 2017 23:14 #90043

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2779
  • Thank you received: 367
  • Karma: 34
Nope, not without FindrCat.
The administrator has disabled public write access.