Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Transition on split screen

Transition on split screen 20 Jun 2017 00:04 #88872

  • ptomblin
  • ptomblin's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Making videos of my kayak races
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
I've got two cameras and a Chroma overlay that record an event that's 2 hours long. I cut that down to a shorter video, mostly using split screen between the two cameras but sometimes just showing one or the other. The resulting timeline looks like
http://imgur.com/a/2eED6

My problem is that in the split screen parts, if I insert a transition, it only applies to the camera on the bottom timeline (Headcam). But if I insert another transition on the middle timeline (Frontcam), it does something strange to one of the Frontcam clips where it puts the transition before the Headcam transition and then displays a blank screen during the Headcam transition. I get similar ugly results when I'm inserting a transition between a split screen part and a single camera part.

I'm almost afraid that the solution would be to make a compound clip of the split screen, then have a second timeline with a multicam clip for when I just want one or the other.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Transition on split screen 20 Jun 2017 10:14 #88884

  • lichinho
  • lichinho's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 335
  • Thank you received: 60
  • Karma: 10
A solution with minimal changes to your timeline does involve compound clips, but it should not make you afraid.
If I understand the situation correctly, what I would do is take *each pair* headcam/frontcam of clips *in the timeline*, option-G to make a compound, and apply the transition. Done, finished, no need to do extra multicam or anything.

If I were to take this from the start, I might indeed do it with a multicam, with an angle each for frontcam, headcam and split, but as it appears most of the editing has been done, there is little point in going back.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Transition on split screen 20 Jun 2017 10:31 #88885

  • Karsten Schlüter
  • Karsten Schlüter's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 3627
  • Thank you received: 636
  • Karma: 62
lichinho wrote:
… compound clips, but it should not make you afraid.….

OK, I plea guilty ;) <<< just some silly internal joke, Paul :silly:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Transition on split screen 29 Jun 2017 20:56 #89104

  • ptomblin
  • ptomblin's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Making videos of my kayak races
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
I took both suggestions - for the project I was working on, I did what you suggested and made compound clips of every cut, which made the transitions work. But for the next project I did, I made a multicam clip out of the three compound clips - one for each camera and one fo the split screen, and used the angle editor to select between them, then did the cuts and transitions.
The administrator has disabled public write access.