Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 02 Apr 2017 04:36 #86906

  • champ5mic
  • champ5mic's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Director | DP | Editor | Scriptwriter | www.youtube.com/imaginationupg​raded
  • Posts: 11
  • Thank you received: 2
  • Karma: 0
My issue is that it seems like FCPX is applying a LUT to my footage. It even renders with the look applied. This was ok to me for previewing and sending the edit to the client for review, but now that I need to export some shots for VFX its causing a problem. It happens in Standard or Wide Gamut color processing. Any ideas on what is going on and any help would be amazing. This is MXF footage BTW.


Photos:
goo.gl/photos/XSmLH3TMqKzhtjWH6
Last Edit: 02 Apr 2017 05:01 by champ5mic.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 02 Apr 2017 05:57 #86907

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4207
  • Thank you received: 890
  • Karma: 196
Hi Champ,

Select a clip, then go to the Inspector and select Info > Settings (see pic).

Schermafbeelding2017-04-02om07.50.05.png


In the Log Processing tab, check if a LUT has been applied. If a LUT has been applied and you want to remove it, just set Log processing back to None.

- Ronny
Last Edit: 02 Apr 2017 05:59 by ronny courtens.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 07 Apr 2017 13:51 #87024

Not that it's a huge hassle to change the "Log Processing" setting, but it's bizarre to me that there is no "apply camera LUT automatically" checkbox anywhere. These log-to-709 LUT's are not flattering for a lot of footage (especially the C300, which I shoot a lot), and I imagine a lot of people have mild panic attacks when they see the look of their footage, not knowing about this behind the scenes, unannounced Log processing of FCXP.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 25 Jul 2019 11:49 #100578

  • zongo5
  • zongo5's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
I do not have access to that log processing box you are pointing to. I shot with the sony F55 in log, trying to take out the automatic LUT that FCX applies, but I don't know how to. Any ideas, please?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 30 Jul 2019 17:59 #100667

  • haysoos123
  • haysoos123's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 392
  • Thank you received: 70
  • Karma: 6
You have to select the clip in the browser, click on the "i" tab and you'll see the window that Ronny indicated. t the bottom left of the window is a drop-down box, make sure you're in "settings" like in the screenshot. You should then see those options. You can select all your clips and change them all at once, also.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 17 Aug 2019 19:45 #100942

  • mindbend
  • mindbend's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: 0
Does anyone know a way to turn off automatic LUT assignment? I NEVER use them.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

FCPX Is applying a LUT to my Footage on its own. 10 Dec 2019 10:37 #103087

  • juma603
  • juma603's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
I have the same issue and often edit c200 raw footage in FCPX before coloring in DaVinci. FCPX puts always that Canon Log2 / Cinema Gamut LUT on it. I noticed the same issue with Sony FS5 / FS7 XAVC Footage.
To fix it I just select all the clips in the media browser / in the timeline and change the value in the info inspector under Camera LUT to "None". In case you don't see the camera LUT setting change your Metadata views to "General".
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.