Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Export 8 mono audio tracks

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 15:45 #85730

  • oldsoul
  • oldsoul's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
I've imported some MXF XDCAM 422 footage that has 8 mono channels of audio. Actually audio on 1&2 and channel 7. When I export out using an MXF XDCAm preset for 8 mono channels of audio it comes in as audio on channels 1&2 and all others empty. It seems to have mixed 12&7 down to 2. Is there a way to preserve as an audio pass through of the original channel assignments? it doesn't have to be XDCAM it could be Pro Res.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 17:44 #85733

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2349
  • Thank you received: 308
  • Karma: 33
I assume you are assigning roles to audio going on each of those different channels?
Can we get a screen shot of your export window settings?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 19:00 #85736

  • oldsoul
  • oldsoul's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
I honestly didn't assign roles because I thought there would be a quicker way to simply do it as a straight export without having make a multi track quicktime. Ive tried so many different export window settings I feel like I've covered every iteration. I did get it to work by assigning each track its own role (A1-A8) and then doing the export Roles as a multitrack quicktime. That did work although I did notice about a 3db level difference on each track. I was trying to avoid having to do that. It's very time consuming.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 19:23 #85737

  • epdfilm
  • epdfilm's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 52
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 2
I'm not sure there is a way to get around assigning roles:
support.apple.com/en-us/HT204261
Last Edit: 14 Feb 2017 19:24 by epdfilm. Reason: Misspelling
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 19:41 #85738

  • oldsoul
  • oldsoul's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Junior Boarder
  • Posts: 23
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
Yea thats what I seem to be finding. I love Roles for most stuff but for this it's really annoying. I'm using FCP 10.2.3. In 10.3.x is there an auto assign each audio track to it's own role feature?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 20:06 #85739

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4177
  • Thank you received: 884
  • Karma: 195
Actually applying Roles is extremely easy: select an audio channel and apply a Role to it. From there you can export any kind of master with any kind of audio configuration.

When you don't use Roles you will export using the default audio configuration: all your audio will be mixed down to a Stereo file.

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Export 8 mono audio tracks 14 Feb 2017 20:11 #85741

  • epdfilm
  • epdfilm's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 52
  • Thank you received: 9
  • Karma: 2
Roles and their increments are assigned automatically. For example, if you import a video clip with 8 channels, all channels would be labelled "Dialogue-1...Dialogue-8." In the Import Window, you can override but I don't think that's what you are looking for. In other words, you will still need to create and assign custom subroles. I hope that helps
The administrator has disabled public write access.