Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 17 Dec 2016 23:30 #84073

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Hi Everyone! I hope someone here can help me out.
Untill few days ago I was able to import R3D files from my EPIC W (8k files) in FCPX. I was already on Sierra.
Then it was a Sierra update to 10.12.2 and after that something very strange happened.
When I tried to import the R3D again, I just see a pink frame. You can actually scrub on it (so you see the video) but as you stop it become pink. The as soon I try to import FCPX Crashes!
Crashed Thread: 31 Dispatch queue: com.apple.helium.rq.gpu-ru0.vs0.gcd

.I thought was Color Finale that was doing some kind of conflict...so I removed it and today I decided to reinstall FCPX.
Also I reinstalled the red workflow from red.com
And nothing happened...same problem (see picture!)
Here is what I don't understand:
1. The file 8k from Red Epic W, works perfectly in red cine, so is NOT my GPU actually it works quite fast in red cine x.
2. I also downloaded 8K Helium files from red.com and I have the same problem, so is NOT my camera....
3. If I import in FCPX a files from SCARLET W it works great!
So at this point...I really don't know what can be!

Strange thing is that some people say that it works for them, but I dont know if they have same updated both in FCPX (the latest one) and SIERRA.

HOpe someone can help, there is also anothers person have my same problems.
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 20 Dec 2016 16:20 #84133

  • brian.barr
  • brian.barr's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
I have the same problem and have for a while! See my pictures for what I am running. We are using a Red Scarlet Dragon.

The only work around I have found is to copy the footage over the top of the same footage. That will at least let me preview the footage. But that makes editing very difficult..

I'm having trouble finding others that have this problem.. hope someone has a solution.
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 20 Dec 2016 17:01 #84137

  • brian.barr
  • brian.barr's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Ok, I was able to find a solution that seems to fix the problem. Doesn't actually get to the root of the problem, but does fix it. Create optimized media with the files and they won't show up pink anymore.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 21 Dec 2016 10:34 #84153

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
HI Guys, thanks just been at the phone with Apple for 2 hours...they have no idea...the guy installed same configuration I have on his Mac and worked fine...he said that if was a Ram or GPU problem it also affect other things not only FCPX. We also resetted the Vram but nothing.....so the only thing I have to do is to reinstall the OS on my computer but I can't do right now as I have some works to finish in prores (which works fine)

I can't even do proxy or optimized media as it crashes!!

The frustrating thing is that WHY dragon files works and helium files not, I suppose something in the plug in has crashed or has been deleted somehow??? If was a gpu or ram problem it should do that also with others files!
6k Helium Dont' work
6k Dragon works perfectly!

I am shattered...a week behind this issue.....
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 21 Dec 2016 11:01 #84156

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4192
  • Thank you received: 887
  • Karma: 195
Hey Luca,

It is obvious that your problem has began after updating the OS. OS updates always screw up some (or a lot of) things, and that's why we advise never to install any OS updates as soon as they are available. Especially if you use your computer for payed work and/or if you are in the middle of a project.

Just reinstalling the OS may solve the issue.

If it doesn't, it could be that the OS update has damaged your User preferences (which also affect the RED plugin preferences). In that case you might try to create a new Admin User and see if the problem still happens when you work with the new User. If the problem is solved by creating a new User, post back here so we can show you how to safely restore your old User account.

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 21 Dec 2016 13:21 #84162

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Hi Ronny thanks for the message. Yes we tried to create a new user and sadly we had the same problem. Also the guy at apple was quite confused!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 08 Jan 2017 08:00 #84637

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Update:
I uave reinstalled Sierra and sadly nothing is changed still I can't import anymore R3D files I am so annoyed!!!!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 08 Jan 2017 13:08 #84644

  • FCPX.guru
  • FCPX.guru's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • bbalser.com
  • Posts: 2717
  • Thank you received: 357
  • Karma: 33
Pardon if this has been mentioned before, but did you install Red's "Quicktime Workflow" update for Sierra? I'll assume everyone is up to date with this, right? Or at least did a reinstall after the OS update?
www.red.com/downloads/5340f90826465a7c2b000338
Last Edit: 08 Jan 2017 13:09 by FCPX.guru.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 08 Jan 2017 17:54 #84657

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Yes and I also did two times ans nothing :-(
Today Installed Davinci Resolve and it works....so the problem is in FCPX somewhere! I also reinstalled fcpx but nothing...now no idea!!!!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 26 Apr 2017 00:06 #87553

In the Notes for the link to the Apple Quicktime Plugins it says:
"Note: FCPX does not currently support RED material above 6K resolution."

So create proxies.

Next time tell the production to hire a DIT. B)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 26 Apr 2017 04:19 #87559

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4192
  • Thank you received: 887
  • Karma: 195
Those notes from Blackmagic are outdated. Here you see native RED Weapon 8K R3D footage both in the FCP X 10.3.3 clip browser and on the 8K timeline on a maxed out 2015 MBP running Sierra 10.12.3:

1_2017-04-26.jpg


The clips play without any hiccup in the clip browser. On the timeline they play smoothly using Better Performance in either a 2K or 4K project, or using Better Quality in a 1080p project. Which is quite amazing.

And here you see native RED 8K R3D playing smoothly from a LumaForge rack server on a 6NMP machine running Sierra and FCP X 10.3.2 using Better Performance with an 8K monitor attached to it in a studio in London:

IMG_1075.jpg


IMG_1066.jpg


Of course this does not solve your problem, it just shows that there must be something within your specific configuration that causes this issue, and it's not related to FCP X. If creating optimized or proxy media can help you going for the moment, do so.

If you wish you can send me one or two of your problematic R3D clips so I can run a test with them on different configurations to see where the cause of the issue really lies: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

- Ronny
Last Edit: 26 Apr 2017 04:23 by ronny courtens.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 26 Apr 2017 04:58 #87561

He's on 10.3.1 so maybe that's the issue? Ronny's reference was from 10.3.3. Also that quote was from your link to the red webiajte Ronny.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 26 Apr 2017 05:02 #87562

Oh sorry, Ronny you didn't post the link I was referencing.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 27 Apr 2017 09:36 #87602

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Thanks guys!
We maybe find the problem (only me and anither guy inthe USA have the sma issue) and it looks like is related to our graphic card the Intel Iris. Are the photo above Macs with which graphic card?
Many thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 27 Apr 2017 09:52 #87603

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4192
  • Thank you received: 887
  • Karma: 195
Hi Luca,

The MacBookPro has an NVIDIA Force GT 750M card and the new MacPro has dual 700 AMD cards. I agree that your Intel Iris card could be causing your issues.


- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 27 Apr 2017 10:57 #87605

  • ronfya
  • ronfya's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Boarder
  • Posts: 73
  • Thank you received: 5
  • Karma: 1
Hey Luca,

I alsi had a pink frames problem with RED footage. Check this topic for its description and solution.

www.fcp.co/forum/4-final-cut-pro-x-fcpx/...h-red-camera-footage

cheers
Last Edit: 27 Apr 2017 10:58 by ronfya.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 27 Apr 2017 12:07 #87608

  • lucavolpe
  • lucavolpe's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Thanks guys, sadly it doesn't work at all. The problem we thinknis indeed the Intel card, if Intell will not send an update the files will never work. I only can use davinci with R3D files or red cine. I contacted Intell too but they said we need to wait!!!
No chance then lol
The administrator has disabled public write access.

PROBLEM IMPORTING R3D FROM EPIC W IN FCPX 30 Jun 2017 14:24 #89125

I'm also experiencing pink frame issue on fcp x. I agree with it caused from graphic card problem. I am using Mac Pro Late 2013 with dual AMD D700. There are no issue when I using this set up.

Recently, I bought external gpu - GeForce 1080Ti. I always met pink frame issue whenever I am using with external NVida GPU.
The administrator has disabled public write access.