Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Draw Mask bug in 10.2

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:09 #63150

  • damiangrady
  • damiangrady's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 230
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 1
Anyone else get this?

If I scale a clip and move it in X and Y (or just x or y) and then apply the Draw Mask effect, once I complete the loop of points, the position transforms reset to zero.

So, basically, I can only use this effect on unscaled, unmoved clips. That can't be right!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:13 #63151

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4277
  • Thank you received: 687
  • Karma: 112
It works if you do the transform after you've drawn the mask.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:17 #63152

  • damiangrady
  • damiangrady's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 230
  • Thank you received: 6
  • Karma: 1
It shouldn't really move at all should it Tom? Surely that's a bug?
Last Edit: 17 Apr 2015 16:17 by damiangrady.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:19 #63153

  • Tom Wolsky
  • Tom Wolsky's Avatar
  • NOW ONLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4277
  • Thank you received: 687
  • Karma: 112
I'd call it a bug. Definitely report.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 16:31 #63155

  • ronny courtens
  • ronny courtens's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 4196
  • Thank you received: 887
  • Karma: 195
Hey Damien,

It's a little bug, and it only affects the X and Y Position parameters, not the Scale. Please submit a bug report.

A workaround for now is to put the repositioned clip into a CC and apply the mask to the CC.

- Ronny
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 17 Apr 2015 17:39 #63159

  • anickt
  • anickt's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Posts: 409
  • Thank you received: 59
  • Karma: 12
Maybe it's just me but why wouldn't you draw the mask before scaling or moving the clip in the first place since it would be easier to draw the mask on the full-screen video?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 28 Apr 2015 18:31 #63764

  • adwise
  • adwise's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Definitely a bug. I had the same issue and fortunately found this thread so I could stop wondering what the heck was going on. If you apply the mask, then delete the mask, your transform data is still gone.

As to why apply the mask after transforming, you can easily increase the display size of the viewer to zoom the area you want to mask.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Draw Mask bug in 10.2 13 May 2015 12:38 #64422

  • canelson
  • canelson's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Gold Boarder
  • Posts: 245
  • Thank you received: 46
  • Karma: 9
Reported to Apple using the feedback page.

Until fixed you can copy the attributes for the clip, do the "draw mask" and then paste attributes for position. That's what I do.
--
Matias Canelson
www.canelson.us
The administrator has disabled public write access.